In a blog post published today, Snapchat reiterates that the Snaps and chats sent through the app remain private, as they were before. They reportedly delete messages and Snaps sent once it has already been detected that they have been viewed, and are expired. "But the important point is that Snapchat is not—and never has been—stockpiling your private Snaps or Chats," the blog post reads. "And because we continue to delete them from our servers as soon as they’re read, we could not—and do not—share them with advertisers or business partners."
Back in 2014, the company got itself in hot water for allegedly tricking users into thinking that data sent would really disappear forever. With this recent backpedaling by the controversial messaging app, its fate in light of privacy issues remains to be seen. For now, we recommend users to be careful of what they send out there, especially ones they will regret in the end.