Google+ invites sent out, then shut down

Google's announcement earlier this week of its social networking service Google+ has already generated a lot of buzz, as one might expect. The announcement also triggered a ton of interest in being invited into the beta testing for Google+. After a massive amount of invites were sent out, it looks like Google is letting things cool down just a tad.

In a post on Google team member Vic Gundotro's Google+ page, he states, "We've shut down invite mechanism for the night. Insane demand. We need to do this carefully, and in a controlled way. Thank you all for your interest! For any who wish to leave, please remember you can always exit and take your data with you by using Google Takeout." Gundotro's post gave no indications on when invites will be reactivated or in what capacity.

When things are reactivated it should be a relatively simple matter for people to get a Google+ invite. According to an article on TheNextWeb.com, a current user of Google+ can share one of his or her Google+ posts with a non Google+ user. When the non Google+ user then clicks on the "Learn more about Google+" that can be seen at the bottom of the email sent by the current Google+ user, the non user will then be taken to a site to sign up as a new user of Google+.

The Google+ social networking service, which supposedly has been in the making for over a year, has as its big feature "Circles" a kind of group feature where a user can assign his or her friends to "circles" in their accounts according to interests and other criteria.

Previous Story
New wireless tech could allow for lots more data bandwidth
Next Story
Steve Ballmer not leaving Microsoft anytime soon