Sony resetting PSN account passwords worldwide is just a "routine protection"

Is it a hack or something else? No-one knows.

Sony appears to have taken the extraordinary step of resetting 'some' users Playstation Network (PSN) passwords on accounts without letting the user know, leading many to think they have been hacked.

However a message popped up on the official account a few hours ago alerting users to the action taken.

Which prompted several replies from users who thought their account had been hacked, others asked why an email hadn't been sent and noted the grueling process for having to reset their login details.

The measures taken appear to be worldwide, with Engadget reporting that "PSN users around the world have been booting up their various consoles only to be confronted with a message saying their passwords are incorrect".

Messages about the password reset have so far appeared on US, EU and Japan PlayStation Twitter accounts, all of which state that the move is "purely a precautionary measure" for "routine protection."

Engadget has reached out to Sony for clarification on why this was needed, but as yet no official explanation for the "routine protection" is known.

Source: Engadget | Image: Sony

Report a problem with article
Previous Story

Microsoft giving free game download codes to owners of faulty Xbox One units

Next Story

MRAM production gains momentum as Japanese and US companies team up

35 Comments

View more comments

George P said,
I've never heard of this being done as something "routine" before.

It is when you know you got hacked , but you have no clue as of how or where, so to prevent and hopefully stop the # of accounts that could be comprised you just reset all your stored passwords.

i don't think they are going to admit they got hacked, just like they wont admit that the number of dead PS4 is higher than what they thought.

George P said,
I've never heard of this being done as something "routine" before.

Facebook a week before asked for it.

SaT.161 said,

It is when you know you got hacked , but you have no clue as of how or where, so to prevent and hopefully stop the # of accounts that could be comprised you just reset all your stored passwords.

i don't think they are going to admit they got hacked, just like they wont admit that the number of dead PS4 is higher than what they thought.

Sure, it's routine when you get hacked but like you said, they haven't said that. The wording used tries to play it off like no big deal and something they just do at random times and often, which isn't the case. That's what I really meant by my original comment.

Well - before people speculate what could have happened you might as well just wait till you get a reply. Maybe someone made a backend change ****ing up some parts of password sync table. Maybe they put new policies in place and want to force them to passwords not following that policy. maybe they got hacked. maybe they test mass reset tools. who knows

Maybe they realized that a large percentage of PSN users haven't changed their passwords in a long time so they felt it was the best thing to do to maximize account security.

Yusuf M. said,
Maybe they realized that a large percentage of PSN users haven't changed their passwords in a long time so they felt it was the best thing to do to maximize account security.

Then they'd have told so.

D. S. said,
Could this be somehow related to the recent Adobe breach?

Boy, if it does, no one can claim Sony 'moves too fast' on security matters, huh? LOL

What about those users who don't use Twitter? Or don't follow that account? They're just supposed to know to look around for an explanation?

mrbester said,
What about those users who don't use Twitter? Or don't follow that account? They're just supposed to know to look around for an explanation?

Agreed. Are people not getting any sort of message when trying to log in?

If so, sounds like this was done suddenly, not planned...

Even with the best intentions, *IF* they didn't get hacked, then this is a ****-poor way of handling a forced password reset if this was "routine".

They're not telling the full story...that's the only thing I can conclude.

Commenting is disabled on this article.