The Queen joins Facebook

Proving that one must keep abreast of the latest and greatest in social networking, Queen Elizabeth II and the British Royal Family have joined Facebook.

According to The Guardian, Her Majesty will take up virtual residence at facebook.com/TheBritishMonarchy at 8AM GMT on November 8 (Midnight PST, 3AM EST).

But forget any hopes of becoming friends with Queen Liz or giving her a friendly poke - the site will be a page, not a profile, meaning users can ''like'', but not add Her Maj.

Loyal Facebook subjects will be able to check out information about royal events and ceremonies, searchable on a UK map, and browse photographs, videos and speeches.

The Facebook page marks the latest royal incursion into cyberspace, after a Twitter account was set up in 2009 and a Royal Channel on YouTube established in 2007. Photos of royal events are also posted on an official Flickr page.

British media have wasted no time in poking fun at the royals for what they perceive as a desperate attempt to stay relevant. Speaking on the BBC's weekly Andrew Marr Show, Mail on Sunday columnist Peter Hitchens said the page was little more than a publicity stunt.

''It is just a way of getting people who are on Facebook to go and find their way onto the royal website, I think. But this is what the royal family do these days. They are rather afraid that people under 50 have forgotten they exist,'' he said.

Previous Story
Neowin Giveaway: XYplorer Lifetime License - Contest closed
Next Story
Google renames search advertising to...Ads