Twitter adds a way to "mute" posts that users don't want to see

People with Twitter accounts can sometimes follow others that post messages they don't really want to see or read. Today, Twitter announced a new feature that's rolling out which will enable users to "mute" posts that they don't want to have on their feed.

Twitter's blog post on the subject states:

Muting a user on Twitter means their Tweets and Retweets will no longer be visible in your home timeline, and you will no longer receive push or SMS notifications from that user. The muted user will still be able to fave, reply to, and retweet your Tweets; you just won’t see any of that activity in your timeline.

The nice thing is that the muted Twitter user won't have any idea that their messages can no longer be seen. Of course, muted users can be "unmuted" at any time. Twitter plans to roll out this new feature in the coming weeks to web users, along with iOS and Android clients. There's no word yet on if these features will be enabled for the Windows 8 and Windows Phone platforms.

This is just the latest change Twitter has made to its service. A few weeks ago, it launched its new and expanded web profile pages, with larger images and more features.

Source: Twitter | Image via Twitter

Report a problem with article
Previous Story

LG unveils three new G Pad tablets

Next Story

Rumors of "Windows 365" pop up thanks to Neowin reader

8 Comments

Commenting is disabled on this article.

Would be nice if I could mute them from the main timeline in tweetdeck, but still have them show up in a list/column.

I need to hide the porn :/

I don't use twitter, but I am somewhat surprised this sort of feature hasn't been present in such a huge social medium.

You could block someone before, but that person had ways of finding out that they were blocked. My understanding of this is that it's a silent block

Sraf said,
You could block someone before, but that person had ways of finding out that they were blocked. My understanding of this is that it's a silent block

I don't understand this at all. When I want to block someone, I want them to know they've been blocked.

Some people don't. There are some very nasty people out there who will actively try to work around a block (registering a new account to continue pestering you as an example) and this hinders them in finding out if they are blocked. As far as that user knows, they are simply being ignored, so they'll more likely than when blocked just keep bugging you from their existing account

While I don't suffer from this, I do follow people who are frequent targets of that kind of abuse