Still Having FPS Issues In Counter-Strike: Source?

Like many of you who might be reading this thread, I preloaded CS:S, fired it up when it was released but was disappointed at how unplayable it was right out of the box. I knew from the original HL and its various mods that a lot of tweaking could be done to counteract this and get the fps up to a playable level. Now, I'm NOT claiming to be an expert in cvars or anything like that, but if you are looking for a bit of a performance boost and don?t want to seek out tweak guides and forum postings yourself, this thread might be for you. I have been messing around with various configs for a couple of months now and wanted to share my results for those of you still having trouble setting up a playable gaming experience.:):)

I have three rigs that I?ve set up and benchmarked representing the last three generations of DirectX with various CPU speeds. I hope they represent the average gaming systems out there. The basic setups I have are as follows:

Rig #1: DirectX 7

Athlon 1800+

Nforce2

512 MB DDR3200

Geforce 4 MX440

Rig #2: DirectX 8

Athlon 2200+ @ 2400+

Nforce2

512 MB DDR3200

ATI Radeon 8500DV AIW

Rig #3: DirectX 9

Athlon XP-M 2500+ @ 3200+

Nforce2

512 MB DDR3200

ATI Radeon 9600

All three rigs are running XP PRO SP2 and have the same Counter-Strike: Source setup. For the two ATI systems, I?m using the latest 4.12 Catalysts and for the Nvidia system, I?m using the newest WHQL 66.93s. I performed the simplest benchmark available by running the Video Stress Test at 800x600 before and after adding my custom autoexec.cfg.

Here are the results:

Rig #1: DirectX 7

86.60 -before autoexec.cfg (default)

88.66 -tweaked with autoexec.cfg