Jump to content



Photo

OS X Lion Tips & Tricks thread


  • Please log in to reply
71 replies to this topic

#61 nyolc8

nyolc8

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-May 07
  • Location: Budapest, Hungary
  • OS: OSX Mavericks 10.9.3, Windows 8.1 Pro WMC
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 520

Posted 06 August 2011 - 12:40

Change Launchpad background effect:
Open Launchpad and press Cmd+B. To change to another effect, press it again.
Effects are:
- b&w sharp wallpaper
- b&w blur wallpaper
- color sharp wallpaper
- color blur wallpaper


#62 External HDD

External HDD

    Boored!

  • Joined: 14-June 06
  • Location: Ankara, Turkey

Posted 13 August 2011 - 22:05

In Terminal:

defaults write com.apple.dock mineffect -string suck


then

killall Dock


to enable suck minimize effect. it has been around before lion, also works for lion.

#63 Lilrich

Lilrich

    Apple Fan-Boi

  • Joined: 31-October 06

Posted 02 September 2011 - 12:10

Has anyone found out a way to uncheck the checkbox by default? I'm using keyboard shortcuts to shutdown/restart/logout my Mac and I'm finding it fairly annoying that the OS keeps restoring my windows afterwards.


I would like to know this too, i have disabled restore for Apps but this option is annoying.

#64 vetPL_

PL_

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-August 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 05 September 2011 - 22:41

Don't know if it's been posted, but I discovered today you can see the contents of each space in Mission Control by swiping left and right with three fingers. Gives a handy larger preview of full screen apps, too.

#65 OP .Neo

.Neo

    Generic User

  • Joined: 14-September 05
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 06 September 2011 - 11:13

Yup noticed that in the DPs. Kinda forgot about it though, thanks for reminding me.

#66 +jamesyfx

jamesyfx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 06
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 08 September 2011 - 19:30

Does anybody know how to stop TextEdit from doing 'Save Version' instead of 'Save'? I'd like to bring back the old functionality if possible. In short, it will currently revert the file extension back to .txt automatically, even if it's something different. Bit annoying. :p

#67 Elliott

Elliott

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 26-September 02
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 08 September 2011 - 20:01

Does anybody know how to stop TextEdit from doing 'Save Version' instead of 'Save'? I'd like to bring back the old functionality if possible. In short, it will currently revert the file extension back to .txt automatically, even if it's something different. Bit annoying. :p

Not sure I'm following you. I just did a new .txt document, saved it, changed the extension to .csv, edited it in TextEdit and resaved it and it saved as a CSV. "Save a Version" didn't change it back to TXT, even though it kept the old TXT versions referenced in Versions.

#68 Techno_Funky

Techno_Funky

    Music Freak

  • Joined: 15-November 04
  • Location: Mumbai, India
  • OS: MAC OS 10.8.3
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S III

Posted 20 September 2011 - 07:49

I would like to know this too, i have disabled restore for Apps but this option is annoying.


Check this link .

http://www.cultofmac...n-video-how-to/

#69 OP .Neo

.Neo

    Generic User

  • Joined: 14-September 05
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 20 September 2011 - 09:57

I saw this solution a while back but decided not to use it because it disabled the feature altogether. I just want the check box to be unchecked by default, rather than on, but with the ability to check it if needed. It annoys me that so far I haven't found a solution for this. Right now that's the only true issue I have left with OS X Lion on a daily basis.

#70 +Medfordite

Medfordite

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-March 06
  • Location: Medford Oregon
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Axiom

Posted 25 September 2011 - 07:08

In Mission Control, if you have an application window you want to move to a different space, click on it in the main window and drag it to the new space. It will also offer up an option to create a new space.

#71 Ionium

Ionium

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-October 04

Posted 05 October 2011 - 16:56

is there any way to have a program quit when pressing the "x" instead of cmd + q?

#72 Sl33pyD

Sl33pyD

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-July 08
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: OS X
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 20 April 2013 - 10:05

Change Launchpad background effect:
Open Launchpad and press Cmd+B. To change to another effect, press it again.
Effects are:
- b&w sharp wallpaper
- b&w blur wallpaper
- color sharp wallpaper
- color blur wallpaper


They changed it in Mountain Lion to Control + Option + Command + B :)