Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#16 OP dre2112

dre2112

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-August 08

Posted 25 October 2011 - 01:20

It looks like this below:

I've also uninstalled McCafee so I am without an anti-virus. I have Windows firewall disabled too.

As for the PC with the printer... all the other computers on the network work fine and use the printer without issue. Even the printer PC can connect to my laptop but not my laptop to the printer-PC

Attached Images

  • ss.png



#17 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 25 October 2011 - 01:55

Well auth to it correctly then and be done with it.. Put in the valid username and password and save it.

#18 OP dre2112

dre2112

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-August 08

Posted 25 October 2011 - 02:14

I purchased the computer from Dell a month ago. It came installed with Windows 7. I never set any usernames or passwords.

and that doesn't take away from the fact that I never had this problem up until a few days ago. I never had a problem connecting to my PC/printer

#19 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 25 October 2011 - 12:23

Thats great you never had a problem, well you have a problem now don't you.

So lets troubleshoot the issue -- clearly you changed something if was working before without you authing?? And now its not.

Post up your settings from the pc sharing the printer, and the share permissions on the printer and we can work through the issue.

As asked before -- were you in a HOMEGROUP before, which would make sense is your machines are all in a homegroup and this machine has left or is having issues with it??

Can not do anything for you unless we see your settings.

#20 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 25 October 2011 - 12:31

This sounds like a homegroup issue to me too. On the PC you're having trouble with, type "homegroup" and run the control panel.
Make sure the PC is in a group. If it's not, get the password from another computer that's in it and re-join it.

#21 OP dre2112

dre2112

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-August 08

Posted 25 October 2011 - 17:32

I'm not on a homegroup. It's just a basic workgroup because the other PCs run XP so a homegroup wouldn't work anyways. And even when I try to set up a homegroup, the printer PC says it cannot join the homegroup.

#22 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 25 October 2011 - 18:19

So did your win7 PC create a homegroup? The one that can not access the XP machine?

Need some clue to your settings so we can fix them, because clearly something is wrong.

Or you could let someone Teamviewer into the 2 machines and work it out for you. Your other machines that are accessing the printer, are they XP, Vista, 7? Do they have accounts that match up with the XP machines accounts.

Normally I setup password auth, and use usernames and passwords to auth to a machine -- this is the more secure option!!! Allowing anonymous access is never a good idea! Also keep in mind that anonymous is no longer part of the everyone group.. Just be cause you give everyone group permissions, this is not the same as anonymous.

Really this could be fixed up with like 5 minutes access to your machines. Best to see the Printer sharing machine, and a machine that is working like you want - and then the machine that is not working so can work out what is actually wrong and what settings your using - for all we know the other machines have credentials saved and are using those to auth to the machine.

But without MORE to go on then you saying its asking for auth there is no way for us to tell you what is wrong. If you want run teamviewer and PM the info and I would be happy to take a look.

#23 +PeterUK

PeterUK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 26-March 07

Posted 25 October 2011 - 19:34

As for the PC with the printer... all the other computers on the network work fine and use the printer without issue. Even the printer PC can connect to my laptop but not my laptop to the printer-PC


In “Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Network and Sharing Center” change your network to public network then in “Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Network and Sharing Center\Advanced sharing settings” have for the public profile:

network discovery on
file and printer sharding on
public folder sharing off
use 128-bit
password protected sharing off
Its how I have it setup then user name guess without typing a password.

#24 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 25 October 2011 - 20:00

^ NO he should not be using a public profile, he is not on a public network -- he is on a PRIVATE/HOME network -- which is the profile he should be on.

Public locks down sharing and such - blocks all inbound traffic.. Which is what he would want to be setup when he say takes his laptop to starbucks or something.

win7 will identify the network when you connect and ask what it should be, public/private, etc.. This is how you can turn off your firewall when at home, and have it ON and blocking access to your shares when at home.

Also he stated he can access this PC from his other machines - its this machine can not connect to the XP box without getting prompted for AUTH. His win7 PC should be in private/home profile not public!!

#25 xSuRgEx

xSuRgEx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-August 03
  • Location: Earth

Posted 25 October 2011 - 20:33

ive seen the same problem happen when setting up a new laptop for a friend, installing windows 7 home prem 64bit and when it got to the setup screen
that askes for a password he decided to power down the laptop and continue with it later. (god knows why he did this) any way when he started it back up
the next day he went to the control pannel and set his password. and when he tryed to access his NAS by clicking the orb and typing \\nas he was asked for a
username and password. how ever when i setup a totaly seprate pc built from scratch using the same OS and wen thru the entire setup procecss
inputting a username an password when asked for one, i was able to access the NAS with no problems what so ever.

#26 Anthonyd

Anthonyd

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-May 06

Posted 25 October 2011 - 20:36

I purchased the computer from Dell a month ago. It came installed with Windows 7. I never set any usernames or passwords.

and that doesn't take away from the fact that I never had this problem up until a few days ago. I never had a problem connecting to my PC/printer

All Dell PC are asking for an username and password at first start.
You probably didn't bought a new computer.

#27 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 25 October 2011 - 20:50

Setting a password on your account in local machine has nothing to do with a remote machine asking for auth.

Unless you were using passthru where username and passwords match to gain access. Then yes changing these passwords on one of the devices would cause you issues. Or a blank as password would cause you issues since blank is not a valid password and you can not auth with blank.

I for example use budman and password, and my wife and kids machines have budman account in admin group on them with the same password. This allows me to access admin shares (C$, Admin$) that I have enabled on them without having to save creds or get prompted. But my server for example does not have this password and have to auth with account on it to gain access. And my popcorn hour using samba I have to auth with as well.

Yes you can use common username and password to simplify access without being prompted, but this by no means means you have to do that. You can always just auth with any account on that machine that his permissions to the shares and ntfs permissions.

If you want to use guest to auth, ie no prompt then this has to be account for on the box sharing the folders/resources.

I have no idea what the user changed, or what happened that he said it use to not prompt - but he did send me a PM and looks like we are going to work out a time where I can team viewer in and take a look. Then we will know for sure what the problem is.

Unless he happens to make the issue go away with his reinstall he mentioned?? Then we will be in the dark to what the actual root of the problem was.

But without seeing the way he has the shares setup, its impossible to know what he changed that is now causing his auth problem.

I personally would just setup password sharing, and correctly auth to the resources - this is the more secure way to do it vs allowing anonymous/everyone/guest access to share or resource.

#28 dmoore2948

dmoore2948

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 27-December 12

Posted 27 December 2012 - 15:29

When the login comes up try user name guess without a password.


I know this is a really old post, but this solved my problem. Why does this work?

#29 ithecrabman

ithecrabman

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 05-June 13

Posted 05 June 2013 - 02:30

I have 3 computers and 1 laptop on a home network and all of a sudden my laptop cannot connect to the PC with the printer attached to it. Every time I try to print I get an error message so I checked and when I try to access the PC from my laptop through the network it keeps asking me to enter a password.

I never had this problem before. I never had to enter a password before, btu all of a sudden it asks me for one. I have file and printer sharing ON and network passwords OFF but it still asks for one when accessing the PC from my laptop. None of the other PCs/laptops on my network require a password to connect to that PC.

It's driving me nuts!


I have a desktop with Vista and a laptop with 7. With "everything setup correctly," (passwords off, file sharing on, same workgroup names, etc. - also, actually seeing both machines on the network) both machines still asked for username and password.

What I did - On the machine with 7, disable 128 bit encryption. When it asks for username and password, type admin for the user name, press enter or ok. It's worked for me every single time. I hope this helps someone.

Cheers!
CrabMan