Jump to content



Photo

XCOM: Enemy Unknown


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#31 curme

curme

    Grand Inquisitor

  • 4,121 posts
  • Joined: 24-December 03
  • Location: Korea

Posted 14 October 2012 - 02:52

I'm playing permadeath ans it's hard when I start becoming attached to the squadmates.

I really wish there were more voices. All of the countries have American accents!

I know it be impossible to have accents for every country, but you could use some accents for multiple countries.


#32 neoadorable

neoadorable

    Neowinian Senior

  • 9,362 posts
  • Joined: 01-August 05
  • Location: Flyover Country/Pacific Isle

Posted 14 October 2012 - 12:06

love it love it love it love it love!!! it's 1994 all over again! playing on PC and it's so awesome. obviously it's just the original in circa 2007 graphics, but that's cool! and of course everyone has an American accent, and no matter if you're in Germany or Hydrabad, everywhere looks the same heh heh. but it's the awesome game we loved so much back then and i am lovin it!

#33 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Badass Viking

  • 20,286 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway

Posted 14 October 2012 - 12:16

It's an awesome game, BUT, ruined by the game stopping bugs. Luckily that'll be taken care of with time, but right now :(

Also I do wish there was a little more freedom and a little less hand holding and guiding. like "research this now", " go to this next plot thing now". it's hard to pace the game as you want, and play as you want.

#34 OP S00N3R FR3AK

S00N3R FR3AK

    Champion

  • 1,742 posts
  • Joined: 29-July 08
  • Location: Texas

Posted 15 October 2012 - 04:27

It's an awesome game, BUT, ruined by the game stopping bugs. Luckily that'll be taken care of with time, but right now :(

Also I do wish there was a little more freedom and a little less hand holding and guiding. like "research this now", " go to this next plot thing now". it's hard to pace the game as you want, and play as you want.

I just ignore the research this now stuff.

#35 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Badass Viking

  • 20,286 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway

Posted 15 October 2012 - 10:50

Also kind of annoying that in most maps exploring is discouraged, since aliens don't "exist"/move unless you detect them.

#36 +zhiVago

zhiVago

    World Citizen

  • 9,318 posts
  • Joined: 04-October 01
  • Location: Pax Orbis
  • OS: Windows Seven

Posted 18 October 2012 - 08:30

I've been playing this game exclusively since it was released last week...

There have been lot's of improvements compared to the original, but I also feel that some things have been simplified too much which is slightly disappointing.

Overall, it's given me great gaming experience and it's been worth every penny! The tactical combat is now so much more enjoyable!

I'm very close to completing it on normal with losing just one soldier in total.

#37 neoadorable

neoadorable

    Neowinian Senior

  • 9,362 posts
  • Joined: 01-August 05
  • Location: Flyover Country/Pacific Isle

Posted 18 October 2012 - 11:35

Hawk, maybe I didn't lay attention, but which platform? On PC its super sleek. I agree there's a lot of hand holding, but it's fine, even on normal this ain't a cake walk.

#38 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Badass Viking

  • 20,286 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway

Posted 18 October 2012 - 11:40

PC, check their official forums there's tons of reports of issues, I haven't seen most of them. But I have one of them, and it's completely game stopping since it locks up the whole game during alien activity on some maps.

Luckily I don't have much time to play games during the week at the moment so I can wait. It might also not be 100% Win8 compatible.

#39 +zhiVago

zhiVago

    World Citizen

  • 9,318 posts
  • Joined: 04-October 01
  • Location: Pax Orbis
  • OS: Windows Seven

Posted 20 October 2012 - 15:26

I'm playing on classic - ironman difficulty now after having beaten the game on normal.

I gotta say that ironman is a lot more fun and enjoyable because, despite being a bit more challenging, you gotta be pro-active playing it, you don't have to worry about saving the game anymore, and I don't get stressed out if I make a mistake or go back to loading a saved game and thereby losing lotsa time.

#40 mattmatik

mattmatik

    formerly soLoredd

  • 4,922 posts
  • Joined: 25-November 03
  • Location: California

Posted 28 October 2012 - 07:18

I think I'm going to jump to Ironman as well. Should have started from the beginning with it. Right now I'm on Classic but finding myself reloading a successful mission if I lose a soldier.

I've only had one issue thus far and it was a CTD during the training mission. Completely crashed out, not even an error message. Reloaded and everything was fine. I'm playing on PC, I do wish the camera was a little more friendly and maneuverable. Pretty much my only complaint so far. Loving it.

#41 HoochieMamma

HoochieMamma

    Professional Hoochie™

  • 8,757 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Melbourne, AU
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 10 November 2012 - 13:09

I love it how (on many occasions) my squad leader, a sniper colonel by the way can miss a 85-90% chance but one of my lower ranked heavys can somehow pull off some serious bull**** 20-35% shots with criticals too. Makes me want to punch my monitor sometimes.

#42 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 10,926 posts
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 17 November 2012 - 16:25

Maybe someone can answer me this: does it make sense to storm the base as soon as you make the option available, or do you really need to be prepared?

For example, I've had the assault the base option available for quite a while now, and by that point I think the toughest thing I had seen was a beserker. Instead of assaulting the base I've waited because I want to kit out my guys with the top armour and weapons first. During this time though I have come across these mechwarrior units which are considerably more of a pain to take out.

My question is this: If I had assaulted the base earlier, would beserkers have been the worst enemy I face, or would the mechwarriors and higher difficulty aliens be there anyway?

Just wondering, since in my current game my plan of waiting for better equipment seems to have backfired quite badly, and I'm trying to think if I need to be better at resource management or if there is another route I could have taken; such as assaulting the base when I first got the chance.

EDIT: Oh, and this game rocks. I'm taking my PS3 round to a friend's place in a bit for an X-Com gamers evening, we love it.

#43 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Badass Viking

  • 20,286 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway

Posted 17 November 2012 - 16:42

If you mean the first Alien base, where you have to make the key, there's no berserkers there. and you can do it easily if you do it smart and follow a single path and play it safe.

#44 neoadorable

neoadorable

    Neowinian Senior

  • 9,362 posts
  • Joined: 01-August 05
  • Location: Flyover Country/Pacific Isle

Posted 18 November 2012 - 05:10

Hawk is right, the first base on normal isn't that difficult. also Hawk, I sort of see what you mean regarding the glitches in the PC version, but they were not that severe. I had one where areas of a map would go dark and characters would get stuck/couldn't pass those areas. also, my final mission was won by a panic reaction shot from one of my squadmates (my squad was basically decimated). that was sort of idiotic, but hey, I guess it's the randomness of war...

#45 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 10,926 posts
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 18 November 2012 - 05:34

Well that's some interesting information if you read between the lines. So I've apparently got a way to go. "the FIRST Alien base."

Forget setting the phasers to stun then, right?



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!