Jump to content



Photo

Setup a RAID 0 on a Mac Mini 2011 Server

raid0 mac 2011 server lion

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 CPressland

CPressland

    www.absolute.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-September 06
  • Location: England
  • OS: OS X Mavericks

Posted 20 February 2012 - 18:01

Hey Guys,

I've got a Mac Mini 2011 Server sitting here, lovely bit of kit, Core i7, 8GB DDR3, 2 x 500GB Drives.

So I boot into the Internet Recovery software (CMD+R I think) and run Disk Utility and setup the RAID0 and install as normal, but when the Mac Mini reboot's it cannot find the RAID array.

Any ideas on setting this up correctly?

And yes, I know RAID0 is a bad idea for a Production Server, thats why it'll be 'Carbon Copy Cloning' to my Enterprise SAN every few hours.

Thanks

Chris


#2 Miuku.

Miuku.

    A damned noob

  • Joined: 10-August 03
  • Location: Finland, EU
  • OS: :: OS X :: SLES ::

Posted 20 February 2012 - 18:22

Did you check this thread yet; https://discussions....tart=0&tstart=0

#3 OP CPressland

CPressland

    www.absolute.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-September 06
  • Location: England
  • OS: OS X Mavericks

Posted 20 February 2012 - 18:25

I did, and I followed it, and I ended up with an Unbootable OS :p

#4 Miuku.

Miuku.

    A damned noob

  • Joined: 10-August 03
  • Location: Finland, EU
  • OS: :: OS X :: SLES ::

Posted 20 February 2012 - 18:35

Right, so - does it actually boot to the kernel and spew out disk not found or Waiting for root partition.. or does it simply not do anything?

#5 OP CPressland

CPressland

    www.absolute.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-September 06
  • Location: England
  • OS: OS X Mavericks

Posted 20 February 2012 - 19:01

Just sits on a grey screen and does nothing. No Kernel, no Disk IO. Holding down Option shows no disks either.

#6 OP CPressland

CPressland

    www.absolute.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-September 06
  • Location: England
  • OS: OS X Mavericks

Posted 21 February 2012 - 19:12

Just a heads up, it worked the fifth time without issue. No reasoning behind it, it just worked! lol

#7 ybrett23

ybrett23

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-June 04
  • Location: Derby, UK
  • OS: osx 10.8.2

Posted 21 February 2012 - 19:14

good old osx :laugh:

#8 Miuku.

Miuku.

    A damned noob

  • Joined: 10-August 03
  • Location: Finland, EU
  • OS: :: OS X :: SLES ::

Posted 21 February 2012 - 19:15

I wonder if it has properly "blessed" the drive for booting or didn't properly set the flag for it. Oh well, strange are the ways of OS X >_>

#9 OP CPressland

CPressland

    www.absolute.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-September 06
  • Location: England
  • OS: OS X Mavericks

Posted 21 February 2012 - 19:35

Indeed, next time I'll run DBAN to zerofill the drives and remove the partition table before attempting this, will get rid of any 'outside' factors.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!