Jump to content



Photo

First SimCity 5 screens and details surface

sim city 5 ea maxis can it be true?

  • Please log in to reply
176 replies to this topic

#76 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 15 March 2012 - 12:14

The prices aren't that bad. I previous games you got ONE city set. If you buy the city sets as separate DLC they'll probably cost FA more than the difference. And if you think they're to expensive. Then I don't think you have the slightest clue about the amount of work work that goes into creating just or full set of city buildings for a unique city environment. Hundreds of unique buildings painstakingly modeled and textured. And it probably comes with unique sounds and possibly vehicles and pedestrians as well.

About the regions. The biggest regions in SC4 where pretty big cities. Bt you have to remember that the biggest cities today didn't star as one city, but they grew into each other and became huge cities. Suburbs and small outlying towns getting swallowed b the massive central mega city. And most of them are still managed as separate smaller units despite having mayor.

Look at New Yor for example. It's one huge city. But it's also smaller regions in a management perspective and voting perspective. I the end you could consider tall the regions in your SC4 map one mega city, if you let them grow that far.


#77 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 15 March 2012 - 12:21

The prices aren't that bad. I previous games you got ONE city set. If you buy the city sets as separate DLC they'll probably cost FA more than the difference. And if you think they're to expensive. Then I don't think you have the slightest clue about the amount of work work that goes into creating just or full set of city buildings for a unique city environment. Hundreds of unique buildings painstakingly modeled and textured. And it probably comes with unique sounds and possibly vehicles and pedestrians as well.

About the regions. The biggest regions in SC4 where pretty big cities. Bt you have to remember that the biggest cities today didn't star as one city, but they grew into each other and became huge cities. Suburbs and small outlying towns getting swallowed b the massive central mega city. And most of them are still managed as separate smaller units despite having mayor.

Look at New Yor for example. It's one huge city. But it's also smaller regions in a management perspective and voting perspective. I the end you could consider tall the regions in your SC4 map one mega city, if you let them grow that far.


exactly! and like in a real city, you aren't all in one taxing jurisdiction, NYC has many many tax regions... which is impossible to model without regions

#78 cork1958

cork1958

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 02

Posted 15 March 2012 - 12:30

My sister is all bummed that her real old version, has to be first or second edition, of SimCity won't work in her new laptop!!

I never have caught on to the fascination with it, but she loves the heck out of that ancient copy of hers!!

#79 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 15 March 2012 - 12:47

My sister is all bummed that her real old version, has to be first or second edition, of SimCity won't work in her new laptop!!

I never have caught on to the fascination with it, but she loves the heck out of that ancient copy of hers!!


SimCity and SimCity 2000 where 16bit or had 16bit installers, or where DOS versions generally (except the mac version) and would need DOS box to run on 64bit systems or even on 32bit systems in newer versions of windows... you can still run it, you just need the right wrapper

#80 Pupik

Pupik

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 09-December 05

Posted 04 October 2012 - 14:33

Some 9 minute gameplay:


Looks a bit too simple to me :/

#81 qdave

qdave

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-October 02
  • Location: Vilnius, Lithuania | Toronto,On

Posted 04 October 2012 - 15:48

^ That looks almost like sc4 :(

#82 theyarecomingforyou

theyarecomingforyou

    Tiger Trainer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-August 03
  • Location: Terra Prime Profession: Jaded Sceptic
  • OS: Windows 10 Preview
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3 with Galaxy Gear

Posted 04 October 2012 - 16:10

Unfortunately they're charging £45 for it and because it's EA we won't see it on Steam. I'm a huge fan of the series but I'll be skipping this.

#83 Teebor

Teebor

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-January 10

Posted 04 October 2012 - 16:24

Are EA killing off another of their franchises again (like C&C) ?

#84 thatguyandrew1992

thatguyandrew1992

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 22-January 09

Posted 04 October 2012 - 16:25

Looks great! Im excited!!

#85 togermano

togermano

    hot top for the bottoms

  • Joined: 29-December 02
  • Location: MA,USA
  • OS: win98se(For real)

Posted 04 October 2012 - 16:33

sc2000 was very good and ran fast but sc3000 unlimited was the best

#86 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 04 October 2012 - 19:20

SimCity and SimCity 2000 where 16bit or had 16bit installers, or where DOS versions generally (except the mac version) and would need DOS box to run on 64bit systems or even on 32bit systems in newer versions of windows... you can still run it, you just need the right wrapper


Or run them in a VM (as SC2K doesn't require DirectX of a modern vintage - a Windows XP VM is ideal). SC3000 Unlimited will install on Windows 8 x64 directly (same with SC4 Deluxe Edition).

#87 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 04 October 2012 - 20:18

Unfortunately they're charging £45 for it and because it's EA we won't see it on Steam. I'm a huge fan of the series but I'll be skipping this.


for the limited edition. also we won't see it on steam because Valve are forcing everyone to use their system for patching and not their own built in systems meaning EA would need to manage and test 2 patch delivery systems.

besides I'm a fan of competition and not giving Valve "all power"

#88 Shadrack

Shadrack

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 20-December 01

Posted 04 October 2012 - 20:25

I hope it is better than SimCity 4. SimCity 4 looked great, but ran like a dog.

#89 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 04 October 2012 - 20:29

where's the quirky ticker on teh bottom???!!!!???!!! ohhh noooes!! that was a big part of it... reading the jibberish was part of the fun!!! and they'd better keep the llama stuff in there!!!

#90 vetFourjays

Fourjays

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 09-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK

Posted 05 October 2012 - 08:51

I was very sceptical about this game (as I am of all EA sequels these days) but I have to say I'm pretty impressed so far. (Y) Although it is Maxis doing it IIRC, which may explain it.