Jump to content



Photo

WP7 trying to recharge for apps?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Alladaskill17

Alladaskill17

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-July 05

Posted 31 March 2012 - 02:28

Had a HTC Titan, lost it, dad got me another one - now when I am downloading apps it wants to charge me for things like 'Plants vs Zombies' same phone, same XBL account - so why would it want to re-charge me? Is it not like other 'cloud' services where the app is tied to the account and not the device?


#2 Noveed

Noveed

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-July 04
  • Location: Middlesbrough, UK

Posted 31 March 2012 - 02:33

Nope, It should not charge you, once you click on "Buy" it should just start the download if you had purchased it before. I switched from HD7 to Lumia recently and downloaded a "reinstall app" from the marketplace that downloaded all the previous apps I had, Did not have to purchase them again.

#3 -Razorfold

-Razorfold

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-March 06
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900

Posted 31 March 2012 - 02:37

Had a HTC Titan, lost it, dad got me another one - now when I am downloading apps it wants to charge me for things like 'Plants vs Zombies' same phone, same XBL account - so why would it want to re-charge me? Is it not like other 'cloud' services where the app is tied to the account and not the device?

https://www.windowsp...m/en-US/account you can reinstall the apps you want from there, just login using your live id and click reinstall on the apps you want.

#4 downhillrider

downhillrider

    Just Riding By

  • Joined: 01-April 02
  • Location: N.Cal / Seattle

Posted 31 March 2012 - 04:07

ya the 1st time I reset my phone and reinstalled paid apps I was put off by the "Buy" option, but it will reinstall w/o charging you again. Im guessing it all depends if your login info was the same. I've been bugged since the beginning that Zune dont backup apps.

#5 keyboardP

keyboardP

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-December 10
  • Location: UK

Posted 01 April 2012 - 11:26

I think MS should really change the wording from 'Buy' to 'Reinstall' there because it gives the impression that you have to buy the app again. From the FAQ:

If you accidentally delete an app—or ever have to replace your phone—you can reinstall apps or games you've bought without paying for them again (as long they're still in Marketplace).





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!