Jump to content



Photo

Remote help?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 LilSnoop40

LilSnoop40

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Joined: 26-March 02

Posted 19 April 2012 - 00:22

Hi, I am getting a new house and I will be mounting the tv on the wall, behind the wall is a room where I will have all the components. I saw a friend have the same kind of setup but not sure what it was. I know on his tv he had a little black circle that I assume he pointed some remote at to turn everything on. What do I need to accomplish this please. Not looking to spend hundreds on this but I would like to know how to accomplish this and what I need please.

Thanks


#2 OP LilSnoop40

LilSnoop40

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Joined: 26-March 02

Posted 19 April 2012 - 11:38

i have a Logitech 650 remote now but it won't go through walls. could this be done with a Logitech 900 or 850 remote or is there another way to do this...

thanks

#3 jerzdawg

jerzdawg

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-October 02
  • Location: new jersey

Posted 26 April 2012 - 13:05

I believe you need a remote that is RF (radio frequency) instead of IR (no clue what that means but it relies on line of sight). The 900 def does have RF:


Out of sight

You can show off your style not your electronics—RF technology lets you control devices, even through cabinet doors.*

I would imagine that you need something in the cabinet to convert your components from IR to RF as well. Check out other options (depending on your components) as I can control almost all of my devices via my phone or Ipad (uses my network to control my receiver which then uses rhid(?) to control my bluray player).

#4 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.1

Posted 26 April 2012 - 13:11

I believe you need a remote that is RF (radio frequency) instead of IR (no clue what that means but it relies on line of sight). The 900 def does have RF:


Out of sight

You can show off your style not your electronics—RF technology lets you control devices, even through cabinet doors.*

I would imagine that you need something in the cabinet to convert your components from IR to RF as well. Check out other options (depending on your components) as I can control almost all of my devices via my phone or Ipad (uses my network to control my receiver which then uses rhid(?) to control my bluray player).


IR stands for Infrared and yes it requires line of sight.

#5 Jonny Wright

Jonny Wright

    Love my backups

  • Joined: 13-February 04
  • Location: East Midlands, England

Posted 05 June 2012 - 18:48

This would do it...http://www.logitech....al-remotes/5874

Just a shame its £200~ :(



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!