Jump to content



Photo

CPU Heatsink Size

heatsink size

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Dan~

Dan~

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-May 03

Posted 01 May 2012 - 14:35

Right one more daft question which I just don't understand why manufactures do it....


I'm buying an Asus Sabertooth Z77 Motherboard & I want Corsair Vengeance RAM (might have to change though).

The problem I'm seeing is, if I buy a beefyish CPU Heatsink then I might not be able to use all my RAM slots, which brings me onto my a question, what were motherboard manufactures thinking when placing the RAM slots!! /rant over

So far it seems that in my setup I want I can buy an Artic Cooler Freezer 13 and it'll fit, but reading reviews it's not the best in the world, but anything else bigger and I'll be forced to give up a RAM slot.

I'm guessing if I was to have "normal" size RAM, I'd be able to have a bigger CPU heatsink? As the Corsair Vengeance has the big heatsinks on top of the RAM.

Any advice would be excellent.

Processor will be 3770k Ivy Bridge - Have no intentions of overclocking, room is just constantly quite warm


#2 Shaun N.

Shaun N.

    Perfidious

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-November 04
  • Location: Northants, England
  • OS: Work: Windows 8/Ubuntu Home: Hackintosh

Posted 01 May 2012 - 14:42

Actually just placed an order for one of these today as my stock one is low profile and if I do anything other than web browsing it spins up full.

http://www.misco.co....-Cooling-System

You would think that motherboard manufacturers would redesign them a little and move the ram sockets from the cpu sockets.

#3 Daedroth

Daedroth

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-June 11
  • Location: UK

Posted 01 May 2012 - 14:43

RAM has to be close to the CPU, as it's a core design in computing. (All to do with electronics, wires and lengths) But from pictures, I can see your predicament. Though I'd be inclined to say that a large one should still fit.

As for your heatsink, have you considered simple water cooling (CPU only), such as the Corsair Hydro range?

#4 StrikedOut

StrikedOut

    Outside the box

  • Joined: 09-December 08
  • Location: Southampton

Posted 01 May 2012 - 14:44

Hey Dan.

That looks like the heatsink I am using in my rig (one in sig) and if you take a look at the bottom the heatsink fins are not the full width. This has allowed me to put Vengance RAM into my PC and although it looks snug, works perfectly well.

If I get a chance I will take a photo and post.

#5 nub

nub

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-November 06
  • Location: Amerika

Posted 01 May 2012 - 14:58

Posted Image

#6 OP Dan~

Dan~

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-May 03

Posted 01 May 2012 - 15:00

^ That'll be cool! (did you see what I did there)

I've looked into LC, juice and electrics don't work, and tbh cant be bothered for that hassel but I will one year :)

#7 chris_h449

chris_h449

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-March 05
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 01 May 2012 - 15:36

try these, http://www.ebuyer.co...l16gx3m4a1600c9
same memory but in low profile, should work for bulky coolers.

#8 OP Dan~

Dan~

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-May 03

Posted 02 May 2012 - 09:33

^ I'm going for 1866mhz ram :)

#9 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 02 May 2012 - 13:21

i doubt you'll really have an issue w/ a heatsink covering the RAM slots. that's more than enough room for a good cooler. i use the Prolimatech Megahalems. it's huge, but not all that wide. i had no issues w/ my RAM slots.