Jump to content



Photo

SSD with old HDD connected issue


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 ReDMaN

ReDMaN

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-November 01

Posted 19 May 2012 - 23:08

I installed an Intel SSD back in December and then had my old HDD as a secondary drive. I've had issues since then with BSODs and windows/software issues. I think it may be due to the fact that my secondary HD has windows on it and I've installed programs on the SSD that are already on the secondary drive. I've also installed programs on the HDD that were already installed on the it originally with the old windows on the HDD. What is the best way to set this up?

For example, I want to have main programs on my SSD but there are some programs I already have on my secondary that I want to use. Should I boot up the secondary drive and uninstall all the programs which I'm going to reinstall on the HD to use when I boot with the SSD? Or can I use programs from the SSD windows that were originally installed in the HD using the Windows on the HD? Sorry my questions might be confusing. Just I thought when you install a program some things are saved in the registry of windows, therefore, you should only use those same programs when you boot with that windows. ??

Help lol


#2 Open Minded

Open Minded

    Balance

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 14-July 11
  • Location: California

Posted 19 May 2012 - 23:15

I have my computer set up the way you're describing with an SDD for windows and a few games with the rest of the programs on an HDD. I had room to backup all my stuff, wipe the HDD and install Windows 7 and all my programs
again. It sucks, but when you change hardware I find it best to just take the time and do it right as not to have problems like this in the future.

Two questions about your problem- Is AHCI on or off? And what brand/model of HDD are you using?

#3 OP ReDMaN

ReDMaN

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-November 01

Posted 19 May 2012 - 23:28

I have my computer set up the way you're describing with an SDD for windows and a few games with the rest of the programs on an HDD. I had room to backup all my stuff, wipe the HDD and install Windows 7 and all my programs
again. It sucks, but when you change hardware I find it best to just take the time and do it right as not to have problems like this in the future.

Two questions about your problem- Is AHCI on or off? And what brand/model of HDD are you using?


I believe AHCI is on...is there a way to check? My SSD is Intel SSD 320 Series 120 GB and HDD is 400 GB SATA 3G (3.0 Gb/sec) 7200 rpm.

So your recommending I wipe the HDD? Like Unplug SSD and Plug in HDD and boot to its windows, backup all the files I want, do a clean install of windows 7, throw my files back on it and don't install any programs. Only install when I boot with SSD Windows and I'm set?

#4 tomasarson

tomasarson

    i can't control my body

  • Joined: 04-June 03
  • Location: phoenix

Posted 19 May 2012 - 23:42

I have my computer set up the way you're describing with an SDD for windows and a few games with the rest of the programs on an HDD. I had room to backup all my stuff, wipe the HDD and install Windows 7 and all my programs
again. It sucks, but when you change hardware I find it best to just take the time and do it right as not to have problems like this in the future.

Two questions about your problem- Is AHCI on or off? And what brand/model of HDD are you using?


i think he said that windows is installed on the HDD and not the SSD?

i would reccomend a clean install myself. install windows on the SSD and any other programs you'd like. use the HDD as more of a backup for large files and/or games.

the registry is a crazy thing. seems like if you installed windows and programs to the HDD originally then installed your SSD and tried moving or installing programs that were already installed on the HDD ... there's going to be a lot of stuff that's broken in the registry.

pretty much all setups with an SSD and HDD are windows on the SSD and the HDD is your backup drive. if you're running windows from the HDD just wait until you're running it from the SSD. that's the whole point.

#5 OP ReDMaN

ReDMaN

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-November 01

Posted 19 May 2012 - 23:45

i think he said that windows is installed on the HDD and not the SSD?

i would reccomend a clean install myself. install windows on the SSD and any other programs you'd like. use the HDD as more of a backup for large files and/or games.

the registry is a crazy thing. seems like if you installed windows and programs to the HDD originally then installed your SSD and tried moving or installing programs that were already installed on the HDD ... there's going to be a lot of stuff that's broken in the registry.

pretty much all setups with an SSD and HDD are windows on the SSD and the HDD is your backup drive. if you're running windows from the HDD just wait until you're running it from the SSD. that's the whole point.


Windows is installed on both. I used to use HDD but now its secondary and SSD has a clean windows 7 install.

#6 tomasarson

tomasarson

    i can't control my body

  • Joined: 04-June 03
  • Location: phoenix

Posted 19 May 2012 - 23:51

Windows is installed on both. I used to use HDD but now its secondary and SSD has a clean windows 7 install.


well then a clean install means a clean registry. are you just running old programs from the HDD or running them after installing them new on the SSD? that could be causing some issues if you're trying to run certain programs from the HDD that were installed when that's all you had.

have you made sure that all of your drivers are up to date? that could be another issue.

maybe backup all your important files (if you can), boot into the windows 7 setup and format both drives to factory brand new. clean install windows to the ssd and start installing all of the programs you want. then move any important files back on to the HDD.

this is the easy/lazy way. but i'm about to finally play diablo 3 for the first time so forgive me if my head isn't fully in the game.

#7 Open Minded

Open Minded

    Balance

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 14-July 11
  • Location: California

Posted 19 May 2012 - 23:54

I believe AHCI is on...is there a way to check? My SSD is Intel SSD 320 Series 120 GB and HDD is 400 GB SATA 3G (3.0 Gb/sec) 7200 rpm.

So your recommending I wipe the HDD? Like Unplug SSD and Plug in HDD and boot to its windows, backup all the files I want, do a clean install of windows 7, throw my files back on it and don't install any programs. Only install when I boot with SSD Windows and I'm set?


You can check in the BIOS about AHCI. It should be set to ON for the SSD. If you can, move the old HDD to another controller on the MB. I have two controllers ,one SATA 3 and one for SATA 2. I found it easier to keep both drives independently controlled.

Backup your files off your old drive and wipe it. I'd really also reinstall Windows after you wipe the old drive and put the files back on then redo Win7 on the SSD with the other dive disconnected. After Windows boots for the first time, power-down and reconnect the old HDD. Install everything again. It's gonna take time, but this is (IMO) the best way.

#8 Anibal P

Anibal P

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Waterbury CT
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Android

Posted 19 May 2012 - 23:59

Yeah, the best thing to do is format both drives and start over putting things in one or the other drive

#9 OP ReDMaN

ReDMaN

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-November 01

Posted 20 May 2012 - 00:00

You can check in the BIOS about AHCI. It should be set to ON for the SSD. If you can, move the old HDD to another controller on the MB. I have two controllers ,one SATA 3 and one for SATA 2. I found it easier to keep both drives independently controlled.

Backup your files off your old drive and wipe it. I'd really also reinstall Windows after you wipe the old drive and put the files back on then redo Win7 on the SSD with the other dive disconnected. After Windows boots for the first time, power-down and reconnect the old HDD. Install everything again. It's gonna take time, but this is (IMO) the best way.


Ok I think I'm going to do that. I thought my computer hardware was broke or something but this week I disconnected the old HDD and wiped and reinstalled windows 7 on the SSD with the HDD disconnected and I've had no issues at all.

What I'll do is connect HDD and disconnect SSD. Boot using HDD and backup all my files to external HD. Wipe windows 7 on the HDD and put nothing on it. Disconnect the HDD and connect SSD. Wipe that as well and start fresh. Then connect the HDD and move files from external HD. Then I can install programs on the SSD or HDD and shouldn't have any issues. Make sense?

Thanks for help guys

#10 tomasarson

tomasarson

    i can't control my body

  • Joined: 04-June 03
  • Location: phoenix

Posted 20 May 2012 - 00:05

Ok I think I'm going to do that. I thought my computer hardware was broke or something but this week I disconnected the old HDD and wiped and reinstalled windows 7 on the SSD with the HDD disconnected and I've had no issues at all.

What I'll do is connect HDD and disconnect SSD. Boot using HDD and backup all my files to external HD. Wipe windows 7 on the HDD and put nothing on it. Disconnect the HDD and connect SSD. Wipe that as well and start fresh. Then connect the HDD and move files from external HD. Then I can install programs on the SSD or HDD and shouldn't have any issues. Make sense?

Thanks for help guys


sounds like a good plan. one last thing is to double check that your SSD firmware is up to date. and bios of the mobo.

after you clean install make sure your drivers are up to date. for the SSD you can run the intel driver tool that will tell you exactly what you need if your drivers are out of date. (probably need something in this area .. http://downloadcente...rage Technology) for your chipset just check the MSI website. they may also have a tool that will tell you exactly what you need.

#11 Open Minded

Open Minded

    Balance

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 14-July 11
  • Location: California

Posted 20 May 2012 - 02:27

Make sense?

Thanks for help guys


Yeppers! Good luck on your adventure.

(and you're welcome! :) )