Jump to content



Photo

Samsung Galaxy S3 (GTi9300)


  • Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#31 OP +mrk

mrk

    www.robbiekhan.co.uk

  • 4,348 posts
  • Joined: 08-March 03
  • Location: Hampshire, UK

Posted 05 June 2012 - 15:09

50GB for 2 years though remember!


#32 +BeLGaRaTh

BeLGaRaTh

    Been here since year .

  • 5,685 posts
  • Joined: 09-August 01
  • Location: Liverpool, England Name: John
  • OS: WIn 7 Pro x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 05 June 2012 - 15:51

How do you get your data allowance on Dropbox, I launched the app on the phone and entered my details, but still only have 5GB :(

#33 Hardcore Til I Die

Hardcore Til I Die

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,266 posts
  • Joined: 18-February 07
  • Location: England

Posted 05 June 2012 - 18:00

How do you get your data allowance on Dropbox, I launched the app on the phone and entered my details, but still only have 5GB :(


I received an email with a link which told me how to get the space.

#34 +Lingwo

Lingwo

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,712 posts
  • Joined: 22-April 03
  • Location: UK

Posted 06 June 2012 - 14:19

How do you get your data allowance on Dropbox, I launched the app on the phone and entered my details, but still only have 5GB :(


Login to your dropbox in a browser and click the getting started link. This will list the steps you can do to get your 50GB. You don't have to do all of them luckly.

#35 +BeLGaRaTh

BeLGaRaTh

    Been here since year .

  • 5,685 posts
  • Joined: 09-August 01
  • Location: Liverpool, England Name: John
  • OS: WIn 7 Pro x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 06 June 2012 - 17:18

Thanks Lingwo but that link shows the ndroid link with a line through it, meaning already done, but the space is not given :( I have sent an email to dropbox, also it seems that it is only on HTC's with ICS installed, reading the help files?

#36 +Lingwo

Lingwo

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,712 posts
  • Joined: 22-April 03
  • Location: UK

Posted 07 June 2012 - 09:53

Thanks Lingwo but that link shows the ndroid link with a line through it, meaning already done, but the space is not given :( I have sent an email to dropbox, also it seems that it is only on HTC's with ICS installed, reading the help files?


I have a Galaxy S3 and unlocked the 50GB for my current account. I had to login first through the dropbox app on android and then got an email telling me how to unlock the 50GB. Which linked to the get started page. Here is what the page should look like.

db_gs.png

#37 +BeLGaRaTh

BeLGaRaTh

    Been here since year .

  • 5,685 posts
  • Joined: 09-August 01
  • Location: Liverpool, England Name: John
  • OS: WIn 7 Pro x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 07 June 2012 - 12:18

Yes, I have the bottom one the same as yours, with the line through it, but no extra space given on my account :( I have emailed drop box regarding it and they say I have no mobile devices attached to my account, even though I have the phone in front of me sending and deleting files from the dropbox account just to check it :(

#38 +Lingwo

Lingwo

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,712 posts
  • Joined: 22-April 03
  • Location: UK

Posted 07 June 2012 - 12:40

Yes, I have the bottom one the same as yours, with the line through it, but no extra space given on my account :( I have emailed drop box regarding it and they say I have no mobile devices attached to my account, even though I have the phone in front of me sending and deleting files from the dropbox account just to check it :(


Perhaps try deleting the app and re-installing it? I don't know if you can do that on the S3 as it is pre-installed.
You could also try signing out of the app on your phone and then signing back in. Perhaps it is a bug their end that didn't pick it up the install first time round.

#39 +BeLGaRaTh

BeLGaRaTh

    Been here since year .

  • 5,685 posts
  • Joined: 09-August 01
  • Location: Liverpool, England Name: John
  • OS: WIn 7 Pro x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 07 June 2012 - 16:27

can't uninstall it, appears to be no option to :( Just clear cache etc which didn't work :( Maybe it's because I have 5GB and the default is 2GB (I got the other 3GB through referrals)

#40 +Lingwo

Lingwo

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,712 posts
  • Joined: 22-April 03
  • Location: UK

Posted 07 June 2012 - 17:10

I don't think so. I logged in with an existing account and it will add to your current capacity to make 50GB. So when you get this problem sorted you'd get 45GB of space.

I'm out of ideas. I think either contact Samsung support or Dropbox support and somehow try and prove you own the phone and then perhaps they could activate it manually.

#41 Hardcore Til I Die

Hardcore Til I Die

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,266 posts
  • Joined: 18-February 07
  • Location: England

Posted 08 June 2012 - 13:07

If anyone is confused about how Smart Stay works like I was, this might help.

I thought Smart Stay was supposed to place an eye icon in the notification bar whenever you're looking at the screen but I was mistaken.

It works in partnership with the screen timeout setting and whenever the screen is about to time out, it checks if you're watching the screen. If you are, it won't turn off. So if your screen timeout is set to 15 seconds, an eye will pop up in the top bar every 15 seconds to check if you're watching, and the screen should stay on. Works with or without my glasses on :D

Works almost 100% perfectly for me now. Every so often the screen will turn off but it's no biggie.

#42 +Lingwo

Lingwo

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,712 posts
  • Joined: 22-April 03
  • Location: UK

Posted 08 June 2012 - 13:11

I was kind of confused too. I was looking at it waiting for the eye to appear and then i'd turn away and look back and the eye was there. I started to think that it was thinking the side of my head are my eyes :laugh:

Thanks for explaining it.

#43 daniel_rh

daniel_rh

    Daniel R. H.

  • 1,455 posts
  • Joined: 31-July 05
  • Location: Venezuela
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIV i9500

Posted 08 June 2012 - 13:13

Thanks for taking your time to do this review

#44 Hardcore Til I Die

Hardcore Til I Die

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,266 posts
  • Joined: 18-February 07
  • Location: England

Posted 08 June 2012 - 13:14

I was kind of confused too. I was looking at it waiting for the eye to appear and then i'd turn away and look back and the eye was there. I started to think that it was thinking the side of my head are my eyes :laugh:

Thanks for explaining it.


No probs :) Yeah I thought the same! And I was pulling all kinds of stupid faces to try to get the eye to appear haha.

This way obviously uses less battery than always watching your eyes too!

#45 OP +mrk

mrk

    www.robbiekhan.co.uk

  • 4,348 posts
  • Joined: 08-March 03
  • Location: Hampshire, UK

Posted 08 June 2012 - 17:16

My Pebble Blue arrived today! Will compare in a bit but first I have a new SSD to install ;o

Posted Image



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!