Advice to a confused student - should I try HTML5/CSS3 already?

Question

I'm currently in college pursuing a Computer Web Development degree and over the years, I have been learning, tweaking and practicing several scripting and markup languages but never really finished neither one. I tend to get anxious about learning new things but then I feel so overwhelmed that I end up not learning anything.

I don't have an extensive experience with creating websites but at the same I'm not a total newbie. I have done a couple of websites and I love to challenge myself. So, I want to spend my summer learning for once and for all everything I need in order to master web design and reinforce what I know about Javascript and PHP. (Next semester I'll start with C++ but that's another story I guess.)

I know HTML5/CSS3 are the future but it isn't quite there yet, so ? and given my brief background history I have shared ? should already start with them or go through the "old" HTML like everyone else?

I bought a subscription for Lynda.com and a friend of mine recently told me about codecademy.com ? do you have any tools or advice you could share with me?

Thank you very much in advanced for your help.

13 answers to this question

they are not the future they are the current, i would learn as much of it as possible.

they are not the future they are the current, i would learn as much of it as possible.