Jump to content



Photo

[SHIFT2] What Base Poll


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

Poll: What base to use for Shift2?

This is a public poll. Other members will be able to see which options you chose

What base to use?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#16 Matthew_Thepc

Matthew_Thepc

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-July 11
  • Location: San Jose, CA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 RTM

Posted 04 July 2012 - 21:56

It seems to be at the minute that we have more people voting for Arch. I also voted for Arch because of the fact it is a barebones system and then can be set the way we want it to.

so let's get to work! :D who wants to host the source/source control? should we do it on github? (lol, sorry I'm pushing github so much :p)


#17 OP ThisIsStockerHD

ThisIsStockerHD

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-March 06
  • Location: 127.0.0.1, England, UK
  • OS: Microsoft Windows 8.1 & Apple OS X
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 05 July 2012 - 11:48

Right, so its official. We shall be using Arch as a base. The people have spoken :)

#18 Syanide

Syanide

    From here to infirmary.

  • Joined: 05-February 03
  • Location: /home

Posted 05 July 2012 - 15:54

Good luck with that.

#19 Glassed Silver

Glassed Silver

    ☆♡Neowin's portion of Crazy♡☆

  • Joined: 10-June 04
  • Location: MY CATFORT in Kassel, Germany
  • OS: OS X ML; W7; Elementary; Android 4
  • Phone: iPhone 5 64GB Black (6.0.2)

Posted 05 July 2012 - 15:57

Arch, definitely.

Best distro to build a distribution with LOTS of own content with on top when the devs are of mixed experience levels.
Not lastly because it's damn well documented and "forum'd". :yes:
(AFAIK at least)

Glassed Silver:mac

#20 ShMaunder

ShMaunder

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-December 06
  • Location: Wiltshire, UK
  • OS: Ubuntu 12.04
  • Phone: Nexus 4

Posted 05 July 2012 - 15:59

so let's get to work! :D who wants to host the source/source control? should we do it on github? (lol, sorry I'm pushing github so much :p)


Can you even host that much stuff on Github. My account has like a (300MB?) limit.

I think someone needs to host a Git server somewhere.

#21 Matthew_Thepc

Matthew_Thepc

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-July 11
  • Location: San Jose, CA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 RTM

Posted 06 July 2012 - 00:05

Can you even host that much stuff on Github. My account has like a (300MB?) limit.

I think someone needs to host a Git server somewhere.

really? wasn't aware that github had a limit....
from https://github.com/plans:

Why don’t I see any disk space limits?

GitHub does not have any hard storage limits. We have soft limits for each plan to prevent abuse. We find almost everyone uses a small fraction of this limit. If you find yourself needing more disk space for a legitimate use, please contact us.

we could contact them if we needed it :D
if not, then we could ask one of the people who were offering hosting if we could use it to host the source

#22 DGMurdockIII

DGMurdockIII

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-July 08
  • Location: Indianapolis, IN

Posted 18 July 2012 - 18:35

id go with slackware or linux from scratch

Slackware - http://www.slackware.com/

linux from scratch - http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/

#23 simrat

simrat

    pooonjabi!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 05-April 10
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64, Arch Linux (Gnome)
  • Phone: Nexus 5 (stock)

Posted 18 July 2012 - 18:38

Arch all the way!

#24 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.4.2)

Posted 19 July 2012 - 11:59

Here... is a couple links on how we would go about doing some custom Arch Installs/Mods:

Live CD: https://wiki.archlin.../Archiso<br />Custom Install: https://wiki.archlin...the_Install_ISO