Jump to content



Photo

New Build, requesting advice


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Driph

Driph

    Say Werd!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-August 04
  • Location: Chicago, Illinois
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 05 July 2012 - 16:55

So in the very near future I will be planning on upgrading my 10 year old system, its been a great companion over the years but it has gotten to the point where I need a speedier system

My current set up:

DFI Lanparty Ulta-D Socket 939 Updating
AMD Athlon 3200+ Socket 939 Updating
250 GB Sata Hard Drive as Master Recycle
2 TB Sata Hard Drive as Slave Recycle
4 x 1GB pc3200 Updating
Geforce 8400 GS Updating/ Recycle???
Samsung IDE DVD burner Recycle
NZXT Nemesis ATX Case w/ stock 400W PSU Updating
Microsoft Wireless Mouse & Keyboard Recycle
& I use my 32" HDTV as my monitor...

Was my first build & had plenty of good times with it :D

My budget for replacing CPU, Motherboard, Ram, Case, PSU, Video Card would be from $500 USD up to $750 USD

I primarily use my computer for leisure, surf the web, facebook, netflix, viewing Hi Def videos from hard drive. Noticeable lag/delay/ stuttering when trying to play 1080p content from hard drive. I dont use photoshop, dont play games on it. I dont plan on overclocking, dont see the sense of it in my situation. I do plan on using it to help fix my friends computers, so having at least 1 or 2 IDE connections in the motherboard would be needed. Along with a PSU that has enough IDE & SATA power connetions. Any way I can get in on that Intel i3/ i5 action? Once i start ordering parts I plan to get them from newegg. Thanks for all your help!


#2 OP Driph

Driph

    Say Werd!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-August 04
  • Location: Chicago, Illinois
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 05 July 2012 - 23:22

So I've decided to go with the:

Intel Core i5 3570K Ivy Bridge for 229.99

Asus P8H67-M Pro/CSM for 74.99

G Skill Ripjaws X Series 1x8GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) for 47.99

Took a look @ cases but none of them really appealed to me, so Ill probably stick with my NZXT Nemesis case and just find a good PSU, So the MOBO has an HDMI output, and the CPU said it had integrated HD Graphics 4000, does that mean I wont have to pick up another video card because all i really want to do is view my 1080p movies without any lag/stuttering/delays. Any recommendations, thoughts?

#3 +PeterUK

PeterUK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 26-March 07

Posted 06 July 2012 - 00:09

If your using that 2TB for storage a SSD for the OS and some Apps would be a good idea.

The integrated HD Graphics 4000 for what you be doing should handle 1080p just fine.

Suggest going for a kit for the ram.
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820233202

For PSU this should do.
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817371030

Maybe get a Blu-ray drive for this setup?

Not to sure about that Open Box Motherboard......and might be better to go with the Z77 Chipset.

#4 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 06 July 2012 - 02:17

The onboard GPU will indeed be just fine for HD video, you probably won't even need to put your other video card in if you don't plan to do any gaming.

Also, the motherboard you are getting doesn't allow you to change the multiplier of your CPU, which completely negates the purpose of buying a K series CPU. If however you plan to do no overclocking you can probably save a little by going with a non K-Series CPU. But if you do want to overclock I would recommend looking at a Z68 or Z77 motherboard.

#5 Stokkolm

Stokkolm

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 09-February 03
  • Location: Alaska
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Lumia 1520

Posted 06 July 2012 - 02:42

So I've decided to go with the:

Intel Core i5 3570K Ivy Bridge for 229.99

Asus P8H67-M Pro/CSM for 74.99

G Skill Ripjaws X Series 1x8GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) for 47.99

Took a look @ cases but none of them really appealed to me, so Ill probably stick with my NZXT Nemesis case and just find a good PSU, So the MOBO has an HDMI output, and the CPU said it had integrated HD Graphics 4000, does that mean I wont have to pick up another video card because all i really want to do is view my 1080p movies without any lag/stuttering/delays. Any recommendations, thoughts?

Save a couple bucks by not getting the K series CPU since you're not wanting to overclock anyway. Did you check out any of the Corsair cases? I've been really attracted to them lately.

#6 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 06 July 2012 - 18:08

you really want a single stick of 8GB?

#7 OP Driph

Driph

    Say Werd!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-August 04
  • Location: Chicago, Illinois
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 02 November 2012 - 05:41

Latest update...

Still getting around to upgrading, but have commenced acquiring parts. I plan on getting ASRock Z77 Pro4, along with Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge. And G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866. Im probably going to end up using my old NXZT Nemesis case, along with my newly acquired OCZ-AGILITY3 booting Windows 7 Ultimate. Really only going to have that SSD drive, a SATA 3 2TB HDD & ASUS DRW-24B1ST DVD Burner. I think CORSAIR Builder Series CX430 430W should be suffice for what im doing...

#8 a1ien

a1ien

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-March 09

Posted 02 November 2012 - 15:09

Can you get yourself over to a Microcenter? There are two around Chicago: http://www.microcent...es/default.aspx

The CPU+Mobo is plenty cheaper there. The RAM is fine, go with 2x8GB. For what you're doing, I guess it really does not matter if you get a video card. If you're dissatisfied with the smoothness of your system, you can just get a cheap one. I kinda feel that a system like that deserves a dedicated video card regardless... if you can afford it, it would be nice to pick up a GTX 650 for $99 : http://www.amazon.co.../dp/B00966IU4M/

So you're not gonna use Windows 8? You can just get Start8 if you don't like the Start Screen. You can always use the Enterprise Evaluation version for a little while to try it out.

#9 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12
  • Location: 'Murica
  • OS: Windows, Linux, OS X
  • Phone: Motorola Moto G

Posted 02 November 2012 - 15:23

you really want a single stick of 8GB?


My face looked like your avatar's when I read that too. :D

#10 OP Driph

Driph

    Say Werd!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-August 04
  • Location: Chicago, Illinois
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 22 February 2013 - 04:46

Update...

After much delay, my old rigs PSU died, ended up getting Antec VP-450 because the wires suited my needs...

Now I just managed to order the remaining pieces which ended being:

Intel Core i3-3240

CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB)

ASRock Z77 Pro4-M

Along with HEC Vigilance Black MATX

#11 OP Driph

Driph

    Say Werd!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-August 04
  • Location: Chicago, Illinois
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 26 February 2013 - 15:26

So now, all the parts arrived, i had everything plugged in, went to boot... PSU & Heatsync fan gave a little twirl then stopped. Nothing else attempted to power on.Thing is only sometimes when you push the power button, did those fans twirl. More frequent what happens pressing the power button, nothing happens. So i check the power wiring, I have the 24 pin connector attached, the 8 pin connected with a 4pin as permitted by the MB. Checked the wiring leading from the case power button the the correct pin assignment on the MB. I removed the hard drives and burner, & heatsync then left the ram in tried to boot and nothing. On my last build, that MB had this LAN light that would light up when i had the power cords connected, this current MB shows no signs of light anywhere on the MB. Help would be appreciated...

#12 mattmatik

mattmatik

    formerly soLoredd

  • Joined: 25-November 03
  • Location: California

Posted 26 February 2013 - 15:35

Friend of mine is doing a build and he had similar issue you are describing. Turns out one of the CPU pins was bent. Maybe just rule that out.

#13 OP Driph

Driph

    Say Werd!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-August 04
  • Location: Chicago, Illinois
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 26 February 2013 - 17:11

Sucks that happened to him, pretty sure that's not the case here. About to disassemble it & rebuild my old one, rule out the power supply...

#14 OP Driph

Driph

    Say Werd!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-August 04
  • Location: Chicago, Illinois
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 26 February 2013 - 17:41

Confirmed the PSU is working fine...

#15 OP Driph

Driph

    Say Werd!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-August 04
  • Location: Chicago, Illinois
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 10 March 2013 - 06:31

Ended up RMAing the mobo, they're shipping out a replacement Monday hopefully ill have it Wednesday or Thursday Cant wait to build my new rig, its long overdue!



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!