Jump to content



Photo

Windows 7 explorer for Windows 8

windows 8 start menu

  • Please log in to reply
165 replies to this topic

#121 OP Tihiy

Tihiy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-October 08

Posted 26 July 2012 - 14:16

Beta 2 released
- New Alt-tab window works;
- Start menu shutdown choices shows Log off, Switch user, Lock.
Attached File  patchex7-b2.zip   66.15KB   183 downloads

When upgrading, you must first run patchex7 and select "8", then re-logon in order to be able to replace files. After replacing files, run patchex7 and select "7".

If off-topic flamewar continues i'm not updating this thread.


#122 Javik

Javik

    #GamerGate

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 26 July 2012 - 15:08

Beta 2 released
- New Alt-tab window works;
- Start menu shutdown choices shows Log off, Switch user, Lock.
Attached File  patchex7-b2.zip   66.15KB   183 downloads

When upgrading, you must first run patchex7 and select "8", then re-logon in order to be able to replace files. After replacing files, run patchex7 and select "7".

If off-topic flamewar continues i'm not updating this thread.


Please don't let it put you off. You're doing great work

#123 Josh the Nerd

Josh the Nerd

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-June 08

Posted 26 July 2012 - 15:09

Charms bar probably, ribbon no


How can it not disable the ribbon? It's the Windows 7 version of Explorer.

#124 Javik

Javik

    #GamerGate

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 26 July 2012 - 15:15

But what about Personalization Panel and Oceanis which both enable you to change the wallpaper on Windows 7 Starter? Those two software's are used by millions of people. And Microsoft have never taken the owners of them to court. So why should they bother with this man?

If he is so worried about this, why doesn't he write to Microsoft and ask them if it's all right to put the shell files in his software?I am sure that Microsoft couldn't care less. Andrea Borman.


Not at all true, Microsoft clamp down very heavily on unauthorised distribution of their IP

How can it not disable the ribbon? It's the Windows 7 version of Explorer.


I don't know exactly how it works but I assure you it doesn't disable the ribbon.

#125 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 26 July 2012 - 15:17

Please don't let it put you off. You're doing great work


I agree with this

I dont use windows but have enjoyed reading about the changes you have been able to make

Dont let the idiots put you off telling us how well ur doing

#126 Andrea Borman

Andrea Borman

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 11
  • Location: England

Posted 27 July 2012 - 10:46

All right,I know now that you have to provide your own files to use this software.

But I just want to ask if I used the shell files from Windows Explorer from my Windows Vista computer,would I then get the Windows Vista Explorer and start menu? Andrea Borman.

#127 KRazpopov

KRazpopov

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-April 10
  • Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Samsung Omnia 7

Posted 28 July 2012 - 14:00

All right,I know now that you have to provide your own files to use this software.

But I just want to ask if I used the shell files from Windows Explorer from my Windows Vista computer,would I then get the Windows Vista Explorer and start menu? Andrea Borman.

The only way to find out is to try. I doubt it would work, but it just might.
Just don't ask about the XP shell resources working with this.

#128 Javik

Javik

    #GamerGate

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 28 July 2012 - 19:17

All right,I know now that you have to provide your own files to use this software.

But I just want to ask if I used the shell files from Windows Explorer from my Windows Vista computer,would I then get the Windows Vista Explorer and start menu? Andrea Borman.


I doubt it would work, this program is designed to run with the Windows 7 explorer.

#129 Andrea Borman

Andrea Borman

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 11
  • Location: England

Posted 28 July 2012 - 19:33

The only way to find out is to try. I doubt it would work, but it just might.
Just don't ask about the XP shell resources working with this.


I was just going to do that actually. Ask if it would give you the Windows XP Explorer and start menu.If you put the Windows XP shell files in the software instead. But this software is a bit of a joke anyway. Andrea Borman.

#130 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 28 July 2012 - 19:38

But this software is a bit of a joke anyway. Andrea Borman.


No Andrea, it's not the software that is a joke

#131 Auroka

Auroka

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-August 10
  • OS: Windows 8

Posted 28 July 2012 - 19:39

I was just going to do that actually. Ask if it would give you the Windows XP Explorer and start menu.If you put the Windows XP shell files in the software instead. But this software is a bit of a joke anyway. Andrea Borman.


Excuse me?

Tihiy's program does exactly what it was designed to do - replace the Windows 8 explorer with the Windows 7 explorer.
Just because you can't use it probably or have a problem with it doesn't mean it's a joke.

You can't blame him for it not working if you use the Windows XP or Vista explorer because that isn't what it was designed to use.

#132 Andrea Borman

Andrea Borman

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 11
  • Location: England

Posted 28 July 2012 - 19:43

Oh this software is a joke. The OP should write on the introduction of the software-

"This software disables the Metro theme. But sorry folks.
You have to provide your own files."

So who is going to take it seriously? Andrea Borman.

#133 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 28 July 2012 - 19:49

Oh this software is a joke. The OP should write on the introduction of the software-

"This software disables the Metro theme. But sorry folks.
You have to provide your own files."

So who is going to take it seriously? Andrea Borman.


Learn to read, that is exactly what the OP has written on his post.

You can't get annoyed with other people for your own lack of ability.

#134 Auroka

Auroka

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-August 10
  • OS: Windows 8

Posted 28 July 2012 - 19:51

Oh this software is a joke. The OP should write on the introduction of the software-

"This software disables the Metro theme. But sorry folks.
You have to provide your own files."

So who is going to take it seriously? Andrea Borman.


<snipped> He clearly states the files required:

Installation: grab c:\windows\explorer.exe and c:\windows\en-us\explorer.exe.mui from windows 7 system or installation CD (with 7-zip). It must be 32-bit version (if it's 64-bit, grab files from SysWOW64 dir). You can use Windows 7 files from same language build or en-US build.


It's been said a MILLION times in this thread:

The files are not included because Microsoft owns them.

What don't you understand?

Edited by Calum, 28 July 2012 - 23:57.


#135 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 28 July 2012 - 19:59

It's been said a MILLION times in this thread:


If I've told you once, I've told you a million times, Stop Exaggerating ! :p