Jump to content



Photo

[Win8] Shortcut to start screen - Is there a way?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 guru

guru

    ||guru||

  • Joined: 19-August 02
  • Location: Perth, Australia

Posted 04 August 2012 - 10:32

I know , hovering over lower left corner brings up the start screen image but i'd rather have static Start screen icon?
is there a way to pin the start screen pin the start screen to desktop taskbar?


#2 Jose_49

Jose_49

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-July 09

Posted 04 August 2012 - 10:42

Start8 is by far the best solution you can get. It will create you a custom start button which you can click to launch the Full screen metro start screen.
http://www.stardock....roducts/start8/

#3 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 64
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 04 August 2012 - 10:44

Moved here, not beta discussion.

#4 OP guru

guru

    ||guru||

  • Joined: 19-August 02
  • Location: Perth, Australia

Posted 04 August 2012 - 11:30

Start8 is by far the best solution you can get. It will create you a custom start button which you can click to launch the Full screen metro start screen.
http://www.stardock....roducts/start8/

Thanks! trying it out now

#5 grayscale

grayscale

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 11

Posted 04 August 2012 - 11:51

Does Start8 and the rest of the Start button replacements work on RTM? This will get handy for my relatives whose pc motto is "just describe the damn thing so I can click it".

#6 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 04 August 2012 - 11:58

This will get handy for my relatives whose pc motto is "just describe the damn thing so I can click it".


Just tell them "Ok, it's invisible, do you see it now? " :p

#7 OP guru

guru

    ||guru||

  • Joined: 19-August 02
  • Location: Perth, Australia

Posted 04 August 2012 - 11:59

Does Start8 and the rest of the Start button replacements work on RTM? This will get handy for my relatives whose pc motto is "just describe the damn thing so I can click it".

Start8 works just fine on RTM. must have on Win8 Desktop if you ask me

#8 vetCalum

Calum

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-January 07

Posted 04 August 2012 - 12:03

I'm obviously not trolling here—I'm just trying to understand and making a suggestion: Why don't you just use the Windows button on your keyboard? Or do you not use a keyboard/does your keyboard not have that button?

Once I got used to hitting the Windows keyboard button instead of the Start button, even on Windows 7, getting to the Start Screen/Start Menu became much faster and easier :)

#9 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 04 August 2012 - 12:04

I know , hovering over lower left corner brings up the start screen image but i'd rather have static Start screen icon?
is there a way to pin the start screen pin the start screen to desktop taskbar?


You can hit the Windows key on the keyboard to switch between them, can't get more permanent than that ;)


EDIT - Ninja'd :rolleyes:

#10 OP guru

guru

    ||guru||

  • Joined: 19-August 02
  • Location: Perth, Australia

Posted 04 August 2012 - 12:12

I'm obviously not trolling here—I'm just trying to understand and making a suggestion: Why don't you just use the Windows button on your keyboard? Or do you not use a keyboard/does your keyboard not have that button?

Once I got used to hitting the Windows keyboard button instead of the Start button, even on Windows 7, getting to the Start Screen/Start Menu became much faster and easier :)

know about the keyboard but i'm just used to using the mouse to bring up the start button. muscle memory, if you will lol.
even on my laptop , i'd rather use trackpad than hitting the windows key. I hit the keyboard when i have to type or execute some very specific commands in programs (SSMS,VS).

i agree that keyboard shortcut would be faster, but not necessarily intuitive in some situations.

#11 bogas04

bogas04

    This title is bogus

  • Joined: 15-May 09
  • Location: India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 04 August 2012 - 12:44

Posted Image

#12 Sheza

Sheza

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-July 12
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit

Posted 04 August 2012 - 13:23

The OS is no doubt fluid. Even running on a bad Virtual Machine everything was pretty fast besides mouse input lag. I can see this as a great OS for Tablet users. But for the Desktop, the features are just gimmicks. Still, having MetroTwit to the side of my screen and then the fully functioning Desktop was quite fun to use.

Oh, and the Windows key is used a lot in Windows 8. You'll need to get used to it if you want to get around it fast.

#13 CJEric

CJEric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 04-December 01

Posted 04 August 2012 - 13:31

I've always been a little annoyed by the colorful Windows flag (embedded in that super-glossy orb) in the corner. Personally, I like the task bar much better now.