Jump to content



Photo

Help with things to move from Firefox to Chrome

chrome

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Roberto Guedes

Roberto Guedes

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-July 10

Posted 22 August 2012 - 15:43

So, guys, I think I'll give Chrome another try. I'm in Frefox now, and it's great, but the performance of Chrome always gets me. The thing is that many things are missing for me. Maybe you could help me?

Aero Peek

So, I always stay between 5-8 tabs, so Aero Peek works like a charm for me. There was a code to put on the shortcut, but Google removed that. (--aero-peek-tabs, I think). Is there a way to get it back? If not, I could live with that. But since I always change tabs and windows, it could be great for me.

Extensions

So, almost all extensions that I use are in Chrome as well. But Ghostery behaves so differently that it's almost impossible to white-list the things I don't want blocked. Now, there is Do Not Track Plus, which I never tried. Does it work better? Also, does it blend well with Adblock?

Rendering problems

On Lifehacker (and all Gawker sites, apparently), there's a gray line in the middle of the articles only on Chrome. I've seen that on the search function of Facebook's chat and the guys on Rock, Paper, Shotgun saw that this week as well. Is there a fix for that?


#2 OP Roberto Guedes

Roberto Guedes

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-July 10

Posted 23 August 2012 - 12:52

Alright, so I managed to get around all of these problems, execpt Aero Peek, but I can live with that. There's only one more thing: With Flashblock, even if I put video sites on the white-list, embed videos still don't work. I'm talking about YouTube and Vimeo. Do I have to put specific adresses?

EDIT: I restarted it, and it's working. Nevermind!

#3 jkroeder

jkroeder

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-August 11

Posted 29 August 2012 - 02:54

You actually don't need the flashblock extension. The functionality is built into Chrome.

You can find it under
Settings > Advanced Settings > Privacy > Content Settings > Scroll down to find the Plugin section > Enable Click to Play

You can also click on Manage Exceptions to add your whitelist.

#4 OP Roberto Guedes

Roberto Guedes

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-July 10

Posted 30 August 2012 - 14:25

Oh, great! Thanks!

#5 BetaAddict

BetaAddict

    Uncomplicating the complicated

  • Joined: 31-August 09
  • Location: Chicago
  • OS: OSX Mavericks, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: MotoX, Nexus 7, Android 4.4

Posted 30 August 2012 - 14:30

You actually don't need the flashblock extension. The functionality is built into Chrome.

You can find it under
Settings > Advanced Settings > Privacy > Content Settings > Scroll down to find the Plugin section > Enable Click to Play

You can also click on Manage Exceptions to add your whitelist.

Click to play could also be enabled in Firefox as well, but it has the same problem of making whitelisting a real hassle because it has to be done manually every time by going deep into the settings to do it. For that reason, Flashblock is still preferable.

Edit... So it seems like Chrome recently added a newer "site permissions" control panel by clicking the favicon next to the web address in the omnibar. So once you have click to play enabled, all you have to do to whitelist the site is click the favicon and then change the plugin settings from "ask by default" to "always allow". It's an extra couple of clicks, but reduces the browser memory load of having one less extension running.

#6 redvamp128

redvamp128

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 01

Posted 30 August 2012 - 14:54

You could maybe look at this list-- possibly it is there-- Put this in the omnibar

chrome://flags/

if you want to see them all type-

about:about


#7 jkroeder

jkroeder

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-August 11

Posted 31 August 2012 - 22:45

Click to play could also be enabled in Firefox as well, but it has the same problem of making whitelisting a real hassle because it has to be done manually every time by going deep into the settings to do it. For that reason, Flashblock is still preferable.

Edit... So it seems like Chrome recently added a newer "site permissions" control panel by clicking the favicon next to the web address in the omnibar. So once you have click to play enabled, all you have to do to whitelist the site is click the favicon and then change the plugin settings from "ask by default" to "always allow". It's an extra couple of clicks, but reduces the browser memory load of having one less extension running.


Yes, the new site permissions menu is a nice addition. But actually, adding a site to your whitelist has always been pretty easy.

When Chrome blocks plugins on a site, it tells you so with a puzzle piece looking icon at the far right end of the omnibar (see below). All you ever had to do was click that and you could whitelist your site from there.

Posted Image

#8 BetaAddict

BetaAddict

    Uncomplicating the complicated

  • Joined: 31-August 09
  • Location: Chicago
  • OS: OSX Mavericks, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: MotoX, Nexus 7, Android 4.4

Posted 31 August 2012 - 22:56

Yes, the new site permissions menu is a nice addition. But actually, adding a site to your whitelist has always been pretty easy.

When Chrome blocks plugins on a site, it tells you so with a puzzle piece looking icon at the far right end of the omnibar (see below). All you ever had to do was click that and you could whitelist your site from there.

Posted Image

Yeah, I've been using it for the past few days and noticed that icon as well.

#9 chrisdoland

chrisdoland

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-July 10

Posted 02 September 2012 - 02:11

Click to play is for all plug ins, not just flash. This rendered several sites useless. I prefer flash block extension.