Jump to content



Photo

Default Route configuration ?

cisco 2600 router routing static route default route

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Xahid

Xahid

    Anokha Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-November 01
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: HTC One S

Posted 05 September 2012 - 07:39

I have Cisco routers 2600, and want to make it as default route for Internal LAN,
Basically the Scenario is very simple as describe in the picture below !

Posted Image
I have configured all the interfaces accordingly and define the route as required, but the problem is, I cannot ping to any one (Internet) from LAN A or LAN B, here is the basic configuration which i set,
Now the question is, what I am missing ?

version 12.3
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname RouterA
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
enable secret 5 $1$0NJN$TPK4LnfXxaQqbmBobaPqG1
enable password xyz
!
no network-clock-participate slot 1
no network-clock-participate wic 0
no aaa new-model
ip subnet-zero
ip cef
!
!
ip name-server 172.168.16.2
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
ip address 192.168.15.1 255.255.255.0
speed auto
full-duplex
!
interface FastEthernet0/1
ip address 172.168.16.18 255.255.255.248
duplex auto
speed auto
!
ip http server
ip classless
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 172.168.16.15
ip route 192.168.15.0 255.255.255.0 172.168.16.15
!
!
!
snmp-server community public RO
snmp-server enable traps tty
!
!
!
!
!
!
line con 0
line aux 0
line vty 0 4
password cisco
login
!
!
end

P.S, Public IP's shown here are fake, not real.
I've also tried to set IP default gateway.
Suggestions ?


#2 OP Xahid

Xahid

    Anokha Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-November 01
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: HTC One S

Posted 05 September 2012 - 11:32

OK Silly Me, i was trying to route the private IP's into Public network ! lol
Now figured it out, Need to configure VPN :)

#3 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 21
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 05 September 2012 - 11:33

ok then since we don't have both sides or know what equipment...lets just think about this for a minute.

lets assume for a minute that 172.168.16.15 is a router connected to the internet nothing more. How does this device know how to connect to 200.150.160.10 and how does 200.150.160.10 trust the traffic from 172.168.16.15? Oh, it doesn't...probably due to them being gateway devices that have firewalls built into them that stop random traffic from entering via nat. Setup a vpn tunnel between point A and point B to get this working properly or get a one of the following, frame relay, point to point t1, or some sort of dedicated Ethernet service from the telco with bgp.

OK Silly Me, i was trying to route the private IP's into Public network ! lol
Now figured it out, Need to configure VPN :)

Good job. You figured it out prior to me hitting post.

#4 garethevans1986

garethevans1986

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-April 04
  • Location: Gogledd Cymru / North Wales

Posted 06 September 2012 - 12:57

You might also want to run "service password-encryption" which will encrypt your passwords within the startup/run-config.

#5 OP Xahid

Xahid

    Anokha Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-November 01
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: HTC One S

Posted 07 September 2012 - 06:05

You might also want to run "service password-encryption" which will encrypt your passwords within the startup/run-config.

Thanks for suggestion :)



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!