Jump to content



Photo

[Shift2] Dead?

shift2 shift linux project

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
121 replies to this topic

#91 Matthew_Thepc

Matthew_Thepc

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-July 11
  • Location: San Jose, CA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 RTM

Posted 01 October 2012 - 01:51

Hey, everybody, just a quick little thing but I feel we should get it out of the way before we go any further - what license should we use?

IMO, the MS-PL is a pretty straight-forward license, but since we're using Arch, aren't we required to use Arch's license?


#92 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 01 October 2012 - 09:38

Whatever we make (script wise) is under whatever license we want it to be under, whatever license the OS is under depends upon what software is included with it, some packages are GPL, some are BSD, some are others, etc.

Also, I've not looked it up but does cfdisk support GPT? fdisk doesn't so it rules that out.

#93 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 01 October 2012 - 10:07

Not sure about cfdisk but parted does

#94 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 02 October 2012 - 21:26

OK so I just quickly added the PHP-GD code to the installer code (after compiling php-gd twice!) and made it change the first image to see if it'd work. It did! So then I got it working via a GDKPixBuf using a GD image instead of having to save the file at all, so it's pretty nifty!

Attached Images

  • SL1.png


#95 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 03 October 2012 - 11:21

Cant wait for this to work

as soon as we get to a GUI its getting installed lol

#96 ThisIsStockerHD

ThisIsStockerHD

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-March 06
  • Location: 127.0.0.1, England, UK
  • OS: Microsoft Windows 8.1 & Apple OS X
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 04 October 2012 - 00:35

Wow!

This is looking absolutely fantastic! Cant wait to get hands on this :)

#97 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 04 October 2012 - 20:38

So I still can't find a way to work out if the system is booted via EFI or BIOS! I guess in theory we could make the EFI grub pass an extra kernel parameter maybe? Would need to compile it differently.
I found this but not sure how to tell if it's EFI or not ? http://smackerelofop...pidump-and.html

#98 ThisIsStockerHD

ThisIsStockerHD

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-March 06
  • Location: 127.0.0.1, England, UK
  • OS: Microsoft Windows 8.1 & Apple OS X
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 04 October 2012 - 21:11

Using an extra kernel parameter could work, looks blooming hard, well to me anyway, your the main man for code for a reason! :p

#99 simplezz

simplezz

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 01-February 12

Posted 05 October 2012 - 13:20

So I still can't find a way to work out if the system is booted via EFI or BIOS! I guess in theory we could make the EFI grub pass an extra kernel parameter maybe? Would need to compile it differently.
I found this but not sure how to tell if it's EFI or not ? http://smackerelofop...pidump-and.html


You could always read the partition table of the block device. A EFI disk will consist of a legacy protective MBR, and the rest of the GUID table. The legacy MBR contains a single partition with a type of 0xEE. That can be used to determine if the block device is EFI or standard bios.

I wrote a little code to play around with reading partition tables of block devices, but I haven't worked out how to extract the correct disk geometry yet so the values are wrong, but it runs and parses the partition table. Specifically, it's a bit of a pain extracting sector and cylinder information from CHS. But I'll have a look at it again later.

Attached File  disk.zip   5.13KB   17 downloads

#100 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 05 October 2012 - 13:27

But if the drive is blank ^ then it won't detect an EFI table because the disk won't have one :/.

#101 simplezz

simplezz

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 01-February 12

Posted 05 October 2012 - 14:02

But if the drive is blank ^ then it won't detect an EFI table because the disk won't have one :/.


hmm, good point. I'm not too sure on that one. I found a small tidbit here:

Access to UEFI Runtime services is provided by "efivars" kernel module which is enabled through the CONFIG_EFI_VAR=m kernel config option. This module once loaded exposes the variables under the directory /sys/firmware/efi/vars. One way to check whether the system has booted in UEFI boot mode is to load the "efivars" kernel module and check for the existence of /sys/firmware/efi/vars directory with contents similar to :


So in theory, one could just do:

modprobe efivars && ls /sys/firmware/efi/vars


#102 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 05 October 2012 - 14:03

I'll give that a go later on esxi and see if it works!

#103 ThisIsStockerHD

ThisIsStockerHD

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-March 06
  • Location: 127.0.0.1, England, UK
  • OS: Microsoft Windows 8.1 & Apple OS X
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 08 October 2012 - 20:14

Any news n_K?

We could always just have a question when its launched, are you UEFI or BIOS :p
Would be awful, but would work :D

#104 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 08 October 2012 - 22:34

Too busy with uni to work on it atm.

#105 ThisIsStockerHD

ThisIsStockerHD

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-March 06
  • Location: 127.0.0.1, England, UK
  • OS: Microsoft Windows 8.1 & Apple OS X
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 10 October 2012 - 17:37

Too busy with uni to work on it atm.


Thats cool :)