Jump to content



Photo

data centres? office? garage?


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Original Poster

Original Poster

    Systems Developer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7/8, Kali, ubuntu, OSx 10.9
  • Phone: Android

Posted 13 September 2012 - 01:47

I was just wondering what I should do ... I need to host 1 beast of a machine possibly 2 behind a solid internet connection with high upload ...

I was wondering if anyone knew of any UK companies that would hold on to my server and allow me to use their internet ? like a data center but I bring my own gear...

OR

if anyone knew the prices of any good company's business internet ? (they seem to withhold them)

OR

finally should I just try and rent a small office within offices and just put my server in the middle of the room -___-


#2 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 13 September 2012 - 02:10

Why no dedicated hosting?

#3 OP Original Poster

Original Poster

    Systems Developer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7/8, Kali, ubuntu, OSx 10.9
  • Phone: Android

Posted 13 September 2012 - 02:12

Why no dedicated hosting?


I have my own 15grand server which is split into 6 virtual O.o no one can offer me anything better

#4 DaveLegg

DaveLegg

    Coderator at heart

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 31-October 04
  • Location: Oxford, UK

Posted 13 September 2012 - 02:13

Or Co-location (aka your option #1)

#5 OP Original Poster

Original Poster

    Systems Developer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7/8, Kali, ubuntu, OSx 10.9
  • Phone: Android

Posted 13 September 2012 - 02:22

Or Co-location (aka your option #1)


this word has helped... :D I wish they gave prices...

#6 +ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 13 September 2012 - 07:22

Or Co-location (aka your option #1)

Thats the word!

#7 garethevans1986

garethevans1986

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-April 04
  • Location: Gogledd Cymru / North Wales

Posted 13 September 2012 - 13:05

Loads of data centres will offer co-lo....pricey though.

GE

#8 jamieakers

jamieakers

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-January 10
  • Location: London, England
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Dell Venue Pro

Posted 13 September 2012 - 13:18

From my past experience I would highly recommend giving Opal Telecom a call. They're part of TalkTalk and have several datacentres that allow co-location. Don't listen to the scaremongering stories on Google, the service I had from them is top-notch. I had 2 x 1U plus switch co-located at a datacentre in Newbury, Berkshire for a reasonable sum. Up-time was 99.99% over a 2 year period, connection to 2 power grids and 3 different lines in of which all were gig speeds. I can't name the clients but a large credit referencing company had their entire outfit hosted in the same datacentre.

#9 OP Original Poster

Original Poster

    Systems Developer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7/8, Kali, ubuntu, OSx 10.9
  • Phone: Android

Posted 13 September 2012 - 15:14

From my past experience I would highly recommend giving Opal Telecom a call. They're part of TalkTalk and have several datacentres that allow co-location. Don't listen to the scaremongering stories on Google, the service I had from them is top-notch. I had 2 x 1U plus switch co-located at a datacentre in Newbury, Berkshire for a reasonable sum. Up-time was 99.99% over a 2 year period, connection to 2 power grids and 3 different lines in of which all were gig speeds. I can't name the clients but a large credit referencing company had their entire outfit hosted in the same datacentre.


do you know any prices ? the most difficult thing about setting something like this up is everyone withholds prices I need some kind of idea I just want a round about price so I know whether or not to pursue this :)

#10 vetStephen

Stephen

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-July 05
  • Location: Manchester / Huddersfield, UK

Posted 13 September 2012 - 15:17

do you know any prices ? the most difficult thing about setting something like this up is everyone withholds prices I need some kind of idea I just want a round about price so I know whether or not to pursue this :)


http://www.real-hosts.co.uk/
used to use them, couldn't fault them. Where abouts are you based? I used them for their Manchester racks. it was about £40 for a 1u server iirc. however more u's will start to cost more.

#11 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 13 September 2012 - 15:23

info here :)

http://www.talktalkb...olutions-hours/

#12 Simon-

Simon-

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 04-November 02

Posted 13 September 2012 - 15:26

You have fairly good upload with your ISP in your sig, maybe a few more of those lines if Co-Location is out of your budget.

#13 OP Original Poster

Original Poster

    Systems Developer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7/8, Kali, ubuntu, OSx 10.9
  • Phone: Android

Posted 13 September 2012 - 15:36

You have fairly good upload with your ISP in your sig, maybe a few more of those lines if Co-Location is out of your budget.


with this internet comes restrictions :p im not allowed to host a server (terms and cons)

http://www.real-hosts.co.uk/
used to use them, couldn't fault them. Where abouts are you based? I used them for their Manchester racks. it was about £40 for a 1u server iirc. however more u's will start to cost more.


im up north about to move just above manchester soo possibly just need to find competitive prices

#14 OP Original Poster

Original Poster

    Systems Developer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7/8, Kali, ubuntu, OSx 10.9
  • Phone: Android

Posted 13 September 2012 - 15:44

http://www.real-hosts.co.uk/
used to use them, couldn't fault them. Where abouts are you based? I used them for their Manchester racks. it was about £40 for a 1u server iirc. however more u's will start to cost more.


please tell me more? 40 quid a week ? month? what speeds did you get lol :p

btw thank you everyone im looking through all the links and suggestions

#15 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 13 September 2012 - 15:49

ISPs block port 80 for servers... they don't want you doing that.....

I can hook yah up with a good enterprise level one ;-)