Jump to content



Photo

Annoying Windows 8 bug


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 28 September 2012 - 16:24

Anyone know why when I lock my computer, my monitor immediately goes into standby, and is there a way to change that?


#2 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12

Posted 28 September 2012 - 16:39

Wipe it and install Windows 7? :p

#3 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 28 September 2012 - 16:45

have you made a trip to your power options??? Please verify settings.

#4 OP Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 28 September 2012 - 17:23

have you made a trip to your power options??? Please verify settings.


Quite a few times. Nothing seems to work. My monitor is set to go off after 45 minutes, when the computer is set to sleep after idling, but I see nothing about the lock screen.

#5 azspeedbullet

azspeedbullet

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-March 12

Posted 28 September 2012 - 17:25

did you check the bios settings?

#6 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12

Posted 28 September 2012 - 17:27

Quite a few times. Nothing seems to work. My monitor is set to go off after 45 minutes, when the computer is set to sleep after idling, but I see nothing about the lock screen.


On a more serious note, go to device manager and see if the driver is installed. Go to the manufacture's website too and get the driver. Has it just started doing this or has it done so since day one?

#7 Routerbad

Routerbad

    Neowinian Libertarian

  • Joined: 18-April 06
  • Location: Oceanside, CA
  • OS: W8
  • Phone: WP7.5

Posted 28 September 2012 - 17:27

My secondary monitor goes into standby when I lock, but not the primary one, it stays on until it is set to hibernate. I have my power settings at max performance as a baseline and set "turn monitor off" to 20 minutes. I have hibernate set to 30 minutes.

#8 Anthonyd

Anthonyd

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-May 06

Posted 28 September 2012 - 17:31

Your monitor goes off after 1min when you are on the lockscreen. This is made by design and it's not a "bug".

If you want to keep it always on, you need to set the monitor to never sleep inside the power settings menu (inside the control panel).

#9 OP Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 28 September 2012 - 17:34

On a more serious note, go to device manager and see if the driver is installed. Go to the manufacture's website too and get the driver. Has it just started doing this or has it done so since day one?


Actually, I never install manufacturer drivers for monitors. They've always screw things up with OS settings, and HP's drivers have always screwed up my color settings by installing and defaulting to their own junk ICM pallets. But the OS recognizes my main monitor as a HP w2207.

It's also been doing this since day 1, even on the CP.

Your monitor goes off after 1min when you are on the lockscreen. This is made by design and it's not a "bug".

If you want to keep it always on, you need to set the monitor to never sleep inside the power settings menu (inside the control panel).


Shoot. Ok, thanks.

#10 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 28 September 2012 - 17:35

Actually, I never install manufacturer drivers for monitors. They've always screw things up with OS settings, and HP's drivers have always screwed up my color settings by installing and defaulting to their own junk ICM pallets. But the OS recognizes my main monitor as a HP w2207.

i think you misunderstood, he meant main manufacturer aka Nvidia or AMD, not OEM manufacturer

#11 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12

Posted 28 September 2012 - 17:38

Actually, I never install manufacturer drivers for monitors. They've always screw things up with OS settings, and HP's drivers have always screwed up my color settings by installing and defaulting to their own junk ICM pallets. But the OS recognizes my main monitor as a HP w2207.

It's also been doing this since day 1, even on the CP.



Shoot. Ok, thanks.


http://h10025.www1.h...ct=3363837#N154

Doesn't look like there is official (driver) support for it. Maybe call HP or post on their forums when support will be availible?

i think you misunderstood, he meant main manufacturer aka Nvidia or AMD, not OEM manufacturer


His graphics drivers? I'm very sure he has those. ;)

Hey dot!

Is your mobo drivers up to date? lol

#12 OP Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 28 September 2012 - 17:42

Yes, my graphics drivers are up to date. :laugh:

#13 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 28 September 2012 - 18:44

I never install monitor drivers ether...

#14 +Brandon Live

Brandon Live

    Seattle geek

  • Joined: 08-June 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted 28 September 2012 - 19:26

Anyone know why when I lock my computer, my monitor immediately goes into standby, and is there a way to change that?


Not a bug, it's working as designed.

#15 OP Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 28 September 2012 - 19:49

Not a bug, it's working as designed. I think you can disable this behavior in the old "screensaver" dialog.


Didn't see anything in there. I don't have a screensaver set. But it's odd given you now have notifications on the lock screen, but no one is ever going to see them with the screen going off like that. Plus, it makes it harder to admire the picture I have set as the background. :p