Jump to content



Photo

WMP database keeps corrupting.

wmp dlna wmp database

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 29 September 2012 - 18:24

So I use WMP as a DLNA player and it works great, (none of the other ones work as well, I have tried most!)

The problem is, every week or so, the database becomes corrupted and I have to stop the service, delete the database file and restart the service......(otherwise I can't add new files to the library)

it's a big pain cause the database takes a while to rebuilt and I can't use it until it's done.

What can be causing this recurring issue? everything is updated and I am virus free. Windows 7 pro is being used.


#2 Doctor_SPAM

Doctor_SPAM

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-September 12

Posted 29 September 2012 - 19:42

do you have media sharing enable because that could be the cause.... ive seen it mess some stuff up in the past :p

#3 OP capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:12

yes, media sharing is basically DLNA for WMP. i think... without it, I have no need for WMP.

#4 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 30 September 2012 - 22:16

what is the file size of the database?

#5 OP capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 25 October 2012 - 19:51

the database file is just over 16mb. I reduced it to 13 by not including a few folders but that didn't help. the biggest annoyance is that I have to restart the machine every time this happens.

#6 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 25 October 2012 - 21:49

there is a way to remove wmp by the programs and feature and then re-enable it

RMXCAT-PF-WMP-548.PNG

#7 OP capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 25 October 2012 - 22:10

there is a way to remove wmp by the programs and feature and then re-enable it

Yeah I know, you think that will be helpful? I am guessing this won't solve the problem and will take just as long and require a restart. But I will give it a shot since I am all our of ideas.

#8 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 25 October 2012 - 22:15

If the database keeps becoming corrupted, there are a number of potential causes, the most likely of which are:

1: The hard drive you boot with is on it's way out
2: The hard drive your media resides on is on it's way out
3: Some of your media files may be either corrupted or in a format that's causing the indexer to crash

I've never personally had this kind of issue but I'd start with looking at the welfare of your disk drives.

#9 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 25 October 2012 - 22:19

This will re-install WMP and may resolve any issues you may have.

#10 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 25 October 2012 - 22:21

If you're playing from a DLNA server it shouldn't have anything to do with the WMP database as that information is pulled real-time from the server.

#11 OP capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 25 October 2012 - 23:05

If you're playing from a DLNA server it shouldn't have anything to do with the WMP database as that information is pulled real-time from the server.

WMP is the server and it keeps a database of the files. I know what you mean though, most other DLNA players don't need a database to keep track of stuff but WMP does... I think this is what makes the client side feel faster when the server is WMP instead of others.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!