Jump to content



Photo

WMP database keeps corrupting.

wmp dlna wmp database

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 29 September 2012 - 18:24

So I use WMP as a DLNA player and it works great, (none of the other ones work as well, I have tried most!)

The problem is, every week or so, the database becomes corrupted and I have to stop the service, delete the database file and restart the service......(otherwise I can't add new files to the library)

it's a big pain cause the database takes a while to rebuilt and I can't use it until it's done.

What can be causing this recurring issue? everything is updated and I am virus free. Windows 7 pro is being used.


#2 Doctor_SPAM

Doctor_SPAM

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-September 12

Posted 29 September 2012 - 19:42

do you have media sharing enable because that could be the cause.... ive seen it mess some stuff up in the past :p

#3 OP capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:12

yes, media sharing is basically DLNA for WMP. i think... without it, I have no need for WMP.

#4 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 30 September 2012 - 22:16

what is the file size of the database?

#5 OP capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 25 October 2012 - 19:51

the database file is just over 16mb. I reduced it to 13 by not including a few folders but that didn't help. the biggest annoyance is that I have to restart the machine every time this happens.

#6 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 25 October 2012 - 21:49

there is a way to remove wmp by the programs and feature and then re-enable it

RMXCAT-PF-WMP-548.PNG

#7 OP capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 25 October 2012 - 22:10

there is a way to remove wmp by the programs and feature and then re-enable it

Yeah I know, you think that will be helpful? I am guessing this won't solve the problem and will take just as long and require a restart. But I will give it a shot since I am all our of ideas.

#8 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 25 October 2012 - 22:15

If the database keeps becoming corrupted, there are a number of potential causes, the most likely of which are:

1: The hard drive you boot with is on it's way out
2: The hard drive your media resides on is on it's way out
3: Some of your media files may be either corrupted or in a format that's causing the indexer to crash

I've never personally had this kind of issue but I'd start with looking at the welfare of your disk drives.

#9 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 25 October 2012 - 22:19

This will re-install WMP and may resolve any issues you may have.

#10 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 25 October 2012 - 22:21

If you're playing from a DLNA server it shouldn't have anything to do with the WMP database as that information is pulled real-time from the server.

#11 OP capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 25 October 2012 - 23:05

If you're playing from a DLNA server it shouldn't have anything to do with the WMP database as that information is pulled real-time from the server.

WMP is the server and it keeps a database of the files. I know what you mean though, most other DLNA players don't need a database to keep track of stuff but WMP does... I think this is what makes the client side feel faster when the server is WMP instead of others.