Jump to content



Photo

Quick VPN setup Question

vpn tunneling

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 lchazl

lchazl

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-December 02

Posted 02 October 2012 - 07:05

Hey guys,

Had a paid VPN service before where I did the standard windows VPN (connect to server, login/pass) which gave me a USA IP addy.

But now I'm thinking, if I have a friend in the US with a decent connection can't he just provide me a VPN using his connection in much the same way as above?

What software is needed for both client and server?

Thanks,

Charles


#2 lars77

lars77

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-April 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 02 October 2012 - 11:16

In theory if your friend has a router that supports VPN then they could set it up & give you access to it. Then you'd connect much the same way you've already been connecting (via the Windows VPN connection screens).

Routers w/ 3rd party firmware (e.g. Tomato Mods & DD-WRT) should be able to pull this off, otherwise you'd have to check w/ your friend on what sort of router they have & whether it supports setting up a VPN server.

#3 Xoligy

Xoligy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-May 10

Posted 02 October 2012 - 12:58

Yes its possible via either custom router software (best option), or them allowing you to connect through there computer, if they would allow you is another thing...

Id personally prefer to spend $5-10 and have the added security myself with good speeds knowing none of us were going to hinder the otehr person playing online games, streaming or downloading, there is also the matter of illegal activity to think about specially with all the laws changing and being different in different states.

I just re-started paying for my vpn service and made it so it automatically dials the connection and starts "VPN LifeGuard" and before you ask...

Free & open source application to protect yourself when your VPN disconnects. It blocks Internet access any others specified applications. It prevents unsecured connections after your VPN connection goes down. VPN Lifeguard will close down the specified applications and automatically reconnect your VPN. Then, reload applications when reconnecting the VPN.



#4 ZeroFearX

ZeroFearX

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-November 11

Posted 02 October 2012 - 13:11

http://openvpn.net

OpenVPN Community Edition is a free VPN client/server that achieve what you are trying to do. However, IMO, I don't find it "User Friendly" but it does the job.

http://www.cisco.com...Data_Sheet.html

Personally, I use a Cisco RV110W router that support secure connections using "QuickVPN". For 79.99$ (CAN), It was the best "Ready to Use" solution I could find.

Regardless of what you decide, I suggest that you don't use PPTP since it is unsecured.

#5 OP lchazl

lchazl

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-December 02

Posted 02 October 2012 - 14:03

Thx guys, will try the openvpn and also see about his router supporting it and if not getting custom FW.

#6 OP lchazl

lchazl

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-December 02

Posted 02 October 2012 - 14:57

http://openvpn.net

OpenVPN Community Edition is a free VPN client/server that achieve what you are trying to do. However, IMO, I don't find it "User Friendly" but it does the job.

http://www.cisco.com...Data_Sheet.html

Personally, I use a Cisco RV110W router that support secure connections using "QuickVPN". For 79.99$ (CAN), It was the best "Ready to Use" solution I could find.

Regardless of what you decide, I suggest that you don't use PPTP since it is unsecured.



yea OpenVPN is way over my head, is there any other software that could do it easier? He's not at home now so can't see his router and wanted a backup plan just in case.

Thanks

#7 ZeroFearX

ZeroFearX

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-November 11

Posted 03 October 2012 - 04:53

Well, if you can't have physical access to the equipment, go with "OpenVPN".

http://community.ope...y_Windows_Guide

#8 OP lchazl

lchazl

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-December 02

Posted 04 October 2012 - 02:01

Well, if you can't have physical access to the equipment, go with "OpenVPN".

http://community.ope...y_Windows_Guide


thx, have another free vpn that works for now but if/when that goes, this guide is a bit more palatable!

#9 ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 26 November 2012 - 12:51

Do not use the above link. They are well known to route traffic through China servers. I don't need to tell you what problems this could cause for your personal privacy and protection...

#10 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 75
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 26 November 2012 - 15:50

^ looks like mods removed that link ChuckFinley - I had reported both of the spam posts. The link above now is fine - the bad link was removed, for anyone finding this thread later.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!