Jump to content



Photo

Need a VNC server that can have individual logins

vnc server

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 mudslag

mudslag

    I live in your head

  • Joined: 16-September 06
  • Location: Northwest Chicago burbs

Posted 03 October 2012 - 05:24

I run a RealVNC server for my company and right now it's just password protected. Id like to be able to setup individual logins for each person but on Realvnc I don't see a specific option for that. Are there any other simple to setup vnc programs I could use that would allow for individual logins? I want more control over who can log in. Thanks


#2 Yogurtmaster

Yogurtmaster

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-February 12

Posted 03 October 2012 - 06:16

I havent seen any. I have used all kinds of different VNC versions and I haven't seen one that is fast (even on a LAN I have laggy response) or has different logins.


The best remote program that I have uses it Microsoft's Terminal Server which is very fast and responsive and allows multiple
Windows Logins, but if you are not using a windows machine as a server then I don't know.


I googled and found this for linux....

http://www.ibm.com/d...svnc/index.html

#3 OP mudslag

mudslag

    I live in your head

  • Joined: 16-September 06
  • Location: Northwest Chicago burbs

Posted 03 October 2012 - 06:39

Iv looked into MS TS and it wouldn't work for our use. I have usually around 30 or so on the server at one time and if I remember correctly there was a limitation on how many could access or something along those lines that cut out TS as an option.

#4 Yogurtmaster

Yogurtmaster

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-February 12

Posted 03 October 2012 - 06:59

Iv looked into MS TS and it wouldn't work for our use. I have usually around 30 or so on the server at one time and if I remember correctly there was a limitation on how many could access or something along those lines that cut out TS as an option.


yeah, I think you have to purchase a license to connect more and of course it is going to put more load on your network and on the machine. I am sure you are aware of that.
So, it sounds like you are connected to a Windows machine?

Here is something. I don't know about VNC on Windows as a server but there are other FREE for commercial options you might want to try...

http://en.wikipedia....esktop_software

Sort by FREE commercial there is one called FreeRDP that sounds good, you might want to try that.

#5 iascoot

iascoot

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-December 03
  • Location: New Zealand

Posted 03 October 2012 - 07:24

UltraVNC lets you link into AD

http://www.uvnc.com/...entication.html

Ive used ultra in the past and found it to be better than real vnc, most lag free version I have found

#6 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 31
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 03 October 2012 - 11:25

ts is virtually unlimited, provided you have the licensing and the hardware for it. I don't know of any free or inexepensive solutions that would work for you. I assume you are using vnc because of its cost and not its power. With terminal services I have had 50 people connect at a time to one server. I, of course, had the TS licensing for that to happen.

#7 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 100
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 03 October 2012 - 12:40

what exactly are you wanting to do?? Linux can provide a gui if you want via XDMCP, you don't need vnc for that.

I believe the limitation of users would be the network bandwidth you have available and the host itself. Linux has always been multiuser type os, you could have hundreds of people on shells, can do the same thing with a gui if you want.

Here quick google on how to set it up
http://www.idevelopm...dHatLinux.shtml

There are free window clients - xming comes to mind first http://www.straightr...com/XmingNotes/

#8 OP mudslag

mudslag

    I live in your head

  • Joined: 16-September 06
  • Location: Northwest Chicago burbs

Posted 03 October 2012 - 20:29

ts is virtually unlimited, provided you have the licensing and the hardware for it. I don't know of any free or inexepensive solutions that would work for you. I assume you are using vnc because of its cost and not its power. With terminal services I have had 50 people connect at a time to one server. I, of course, had the TS licensing for that to happen.



I looked into TS a while ago, correct me if Im wrong but isn't it more like each person gets their own desktop? We use the vnc to let the group look over charts. The only interaction is just on one screen that the whole group looks at. There is no other use for them though I do run our web site off that same pc and because of that I need it to be a windows based machine based on our particular needs.

#9 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 31
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 03 October 2012 - 20:49

It sounds as if u want some sort of classroom desktop daring software. But yes ts is like having individual desktops.

#10 OP mudslag

mudslag

    I live in your head

  • Joined: 16-September 06
  • Location: Northwest Chicago burbs

Posted 03 October 2012 - 20:56

It sounds as if u want some sort of classroom desktop daring software. But yes ts is like having individual desktops.



In a sense that's kind of how we use it. Everyone has learned to share the mouse and keyboard though some of these guys mess up something from time to time. Nothing that can't be fixed easily. We ended up going this way cause it saved our company over 200k a year.

#11 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 100
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 03 October 2012 - 20:58

ultravnc allow for window accounts even AD domain account to be able to control vnc access

So you have no desire at all of multiple desktops. You just want to use windows account to access to the vnc session, vs just password you set.

http://www.uvnc.com/

vncserver.jpg