Jump to content



Photo

Is it possible to bring Windows XP x64 up to date?

winxp

  • Please log in to reply
56 replies to this topic

#16 cybertimber2008

cybertimber2008

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-December 08

Posted 03 October 2012 - 17:57

If you have trouble finding drivers out of the box, I'd recommend trying DriverMax or something similar to see if it can find the drivers.


#17 OP Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 03 October 2012 - 18:01

I am loading Win7 now on it. If it doesn't work, then I will just enable PAE on the x86 kernel:
http://msdn.microsof...796(VS.85).aspx

#18 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium
  • OS: Windows 7 + 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 03 October 2012 - 18:04

It shouldn't be too hard to get everything working on Windows 7. Windows XP x64 isn't always a good idea, some applications have issues with it and you'll have an even harder time finding drivers.

I am loading Win7 now on it. If it doesn't work, then I will just enable PAE on the x86 kernel:
http://msdn.microsof...28VS.85%29.aspx


Don't ever do that. It leads to heaps of compatibility issues. A friend of mine tried it once because of driver issues in x64 and it was horrible. PAE is a last resort if no other x64 Windows works (which would seriously surprise me).

#19 OP Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 03 October 2012 - 18:11

It shouldn't be too hard to get everything working on Windows 7. Windows XP x64 isn't always a good idea, some applications have issues with it and you'll have an even harder time finding drivers.



Don't ever do that. It leads to heaps of compatibility issues. A friend of mine tried it once because of driver issues in x64 and it was horrible. PAE is a last resort if no other x64 Windows works (which would seriously surprise me).


I did this once before a few years ago and never had an issue. Of course it was a Linux distro I was using. But it never hurts to try. It will be a fresh install of XP anyways, so no big deal if I have to reformat the system.

#20 nhjay

nhjay

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-January 12
  • Location: East Coast, US
  • OS: Windows 10 Technical Preview x64
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia Icon (929)

Posted 03 October 2012 - 18:21

In regards to XP x64 being supported, as I recall, it was built on the 2003 Server kernal (5.2?) and not the orignal XP kernal (5.1?) and thus as noted follows the 2003 service pack cycle which is why it was only ever up to SP2. A bit of googling will show that the support lifecycle end date for extended support is as that for XP SP3 (x86), 8/4/2014, so the OS is still supported, and should be usable, pending driver availablity of course.

That said, I would still go with the recomendation of Windows 7 vs XP x64. I' running 7 Ultimate x64 on an Athlon X2 5600+ with 4GB DDR2 and it runs beautifully.

#21 MtnDewCodeRedFreak

MtnDewCodeRedFreak

    Since May 2001

  • Joined: 04-August 03
  • Location: In a place where Code Red flows ...
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 03 October 2012 - 18:28

On my Rosewill tower with Pentium D, 4 GB RAM, and ATI Radeon X300, I put XP x64 on a small partition in the HD - it seems to recognize all my barebones hardware just fine, even the Ethernet driver as well. I didn't connect my Logitech webcam though.

I do not intend to connect my all-in-one printer on XP x64 because I have Server 2003 R2 and 2008 R2 on other large partitions (it's a 500-GB HD) and I used those server OSes as a print server, along other roles like file-sharing. The XP x64 is just a test bed for curiosity. I'd have installed it on my laptop, but the Core 2 Duo is incompatible with XP x64 (I tried everything, even on a VM).

I don't use XP much nowadays anyway. My primary OS is Win 7 and Server 2008 R2.

On a side note though, I have access to download Server 2012. Will that even work under the hardware? I'll test it out when I get back to my towers (I'm out at my brother's apartment at the moment).

#22 notuptome2004

notuptome2004

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-October 04

Posted 03 October 2012 - 18:28

windows 7 should work fine for you on that systen even Windows 8 would so you should be ready to go with no troubles on installing either system

#23 Jason Stillion

Jason Stillion

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-April 12
  • Location: United States

Posted 03 October 2012 - 18:33

Note: Windows XP 64bit shipped with SP1 built in, so SP2 is the same as SP3 for Xp code wise.

#24 OP Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 03 October 2012 - 18:40

Well, Win7 installed. Only thing it doesn't install is the old r100 radeon.

#25 Arceles

Arceles

    Time Craymel

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-November 09
  • Location: 4th dimmension.
  • OS: Win 7 Ultimate / Win 8.1 Pro (With Start Menu Start8, otherwise is UNUSABLE) / Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean
  • Phone: XT890 Motorola RAZRi (x86 processor)

Posted 03 October 2012 - 20:41

Well, Win7 installed. Only thing it doesn't install is the old r100 radeon.


Find the legacy drivers for it... I remember to had a laptop with an iGPU radeon xpress1150 (see my signature), it was out of the official package set but it was always available on the legacy package and always enabled transparencies for me (note, it must have pixel shader 2 for transparencies at least)

#26 bjoswald

bjoswald

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-January 08
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 7 Home Premium
  • Phone: HTC Aria

Posted 03 October 2012 - 21:00

Just use Windows 7. There's no need for XP anymore unless your system is ancient.

#27 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 17
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 03 October 2012 - 21:02

Just use Windows 7. There's no need for XP anymore unless your system is ancient.

which you would realize the system in question sorta is if you would read through the thread

#28 Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Banned

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 12

Posted 03 October 2012 - 21:05

which you would realize the system in question sorta is if you would read through the thread


From reading this thread it sounds like the system in question can run Windows 7 just fine.

#29 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 17
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 03 October 2012 - 21:09

From reading this thread it sounds like the system in question can run Windows 7 just fine.

that's why i said, "sorta old". the only driver he has left to get working is the display driver from the looks of it

#30 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 03 October 2012 - 21:09

PAE only interferes with poorly written graphics drivers, it's a common myth that it causes system instability (Every server with > 3.5GB RAM in the 90s and 00s used PAE without any hicups)