Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 11 October 2012 - 21:14

I have reached my monthly allowance (250 GB), which means there is a 0.125 Mbps speed cap. I have decided to pay £5 for an extra 5 GB to speed the connection back up to 74 Mbps.

This 5 GB has to last the house one week. I need to reduce the overall bandwidth used.

I have disabled Windows Update on my PC and my parent's laptop.

I have asked my parents to avoid viewing any videos on the laptop or TV (Netflix).

I have disabled access to youtube.com on the router itself.

Any other tips?


#2 Tony.

Tony.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-February 05
  • Location: Liverpool, UK
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 11 October 2012 - 21:17

Depending on what browser you use, Chrome allows you to have plugins load on demand, specifically stuff like Flash which can take a little bit of bandwidth.

#3 +BeLGaRaTh

BeLGaRaTh

    Been here since year .

  • Joined: 09-August 01
  • Location: Liverpool, England Name: John
  • OS: WIn 7 Pro x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 11 October 2012 - 21:25

A pair of pliers to the cable should do the trick, you will wait a week for the engineer to come back and fix it and then you will have all your bandwidth back :)

#4 ncc50446

ncc50446

    Engage!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-January 04
  • Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
  • OS: Fedora 18/Windows 7
  • Phone: Android AOKP 4.0.4

Posted 11 October 2012 - 21:26

Opera Turbo would help. Opera also has plug-ins on demand to block flash (Though unless you already have Opera, would need to download it lol)

#5 shakey

shakey

    It's soooooo Educational

  • Joined: 31-March 04
  • Location: Austin, Tx

Posted 11 October 2012 - 21:26

I find getting a company that doesn't have limits to be the best way to have more bandwidth available :p

#6 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 11 October 2012 - 21:29

I find getting a company that doesn't have limits to be the best way to have more bandwidth available :p

You have no idea how much I regret going with Plusnet.

And we're 1 month into an 18-month contract :(

#7 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 11 October 2012 - 21:30

Only tip I can think of is to use sandboxie on the computes now that you've disabled windows update.

#8 shakey

shakey

    It's soooooo Educational

  • Joined: 31-March 04
  • Location: Austin, Tx

Posted 11 October 2012 - 21:32

You have no idea how much I regret going with Plusnet.

And we're 1 month into an 18-month contract :(


damn man. Might be worth breaking it if you can find a better service. A few hundred is a good price to pay for peace of mind and unlimited bandwidth.... at least to me it would be.

#9 richardsim7

richardsim7

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 26-January 05
  • Location: London - UK

Posted 11 October 2012 - 21:35

What ISP are you with?

#10 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 11 October 2012 - 21:36

What ISP are you with?

Plusnet.

#11 c.grz

c.grz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-September 04
  • Location: Chicago, Illinois
  • OS: Windows 8.1U1 Professional
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 11 October 2012 - 21:38

Does your router have the ability to monitor bandwidth usage?

#12 JudasI

JudasI

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-July 12

Posted 11 October 2012 - 21:40

Any other tips?


Run Squid....

#13 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 11 October 2012 - 21:43

Does your router have the ability to monitor bandwidth usage?

Unfortunately not.

#14 _dandy_

_dandy_

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-May 04

Posted 11 October 2012 - 21:53

I have disabled Windows Update on my PC and my parent's laptop.


You need to figure out where your bandwidth is going. Patches for two computers don't amount anywhere near your 250GB cap, or even the extra 5GB you bought. Are you using bittorrent, Netflix or other streaming video services?

How much bandwidth will those two machines of yours be unknowingly burning through when they have crapware installed on them, because the fixes for long-known exploits still haven't been installed?

#15 ~Johnny

~Johnny

    Earthling

  • Joined: 10-August 08
  • Location: London, England, Earth, Milky Way

Posted 11 October 2012 - 21:54

I always use Opera Turbo when I'm using data limited connections - might be worth getting everyone on your connection to use a browser or a plugin that does similar compression for a bit, and of course there's always options to just not load images at all if you're getting near the limits, or even just force yourself to browse mobile sites.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!