Jump to content



Photo

Outlook.com Custom domains?

outlook.com

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 divinatum

divinatum

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-October 01

Posted 14 October 2012 - 04:02

Is there anything like google apps for domains for outlook? Where I can have mycustomdomain.com and a few accounts under that domain? Also, can I make it not mess with my existing live account, which is using a non-live email and the email I'd like to have on outlook? I can't seem to find much, if any information on this.


#2 alphamale

alphamale

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-October 03

Posted 14 October 2012 - 04:24

you can add additional email accounts in outlook.com settings/email/add an email. take a peek at options

#3 Sir Topham Hatt

Sir Topham Hatt

    A Very Talented Individual

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-November 03
  • Location: Island of Sodor, UK

Posted 28 November 2012 - 12:07

But then when you send emails, it'll say something like "you@outlook.com on behalf of you@customdomain.com".
Sending email through a custom SMTP is what you want to get rid of this.

But then if you have custom domains, you'll already have this but your you@outlook.com will be <random string of letters and numbers>@hotmail.com on behalf of..."
I tested this with Live Domains (same as Google Docs) but it didn't work for me.

#4 Eins.MY

Eins.MY

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-March 12

Posted 28 November 2012 - 12:13

But then when you send emails, it'll say something like "you@outlook.com on behalf of you@customdomain.com".
Sending email through a custom SMTP is what you want to get rid of this.

But then if you have custom domains, you'll already have this but your you@outlook.com will be <random string of letters and numbers>@hotmail.com on behalf of..."
I tested this with Live Domains (same as Google Docs) but it didn't work for me.


http://www.labnol.or...m-domain/24699/

http://blog.maneu.ne...k-com-its-easy/

please try above links

#5 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 28 November 2012 - 12:20

or..

domains.live.com

Sign up, set up your DNS settings then log into outlook.com with the address you have and it'll work.

I have my business and my families business on it >.<

#6 Dashel

Dashel

    Disgustipator

  • Joined: 03-December 01
  • Location: USA

Posted 03 December 2012 - 17:32

As articuno said, just use the domains site and setup cleanly without all the nonsense. Then just link your new domain account with your 'other' account.

#7 mrlcutleruk83

mrlcutleruk83

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-February 13

Posted 22 February 2013 - 23:48

i know this is an old post but thought would be a good place to post,

i want to use office 365 home premium sub, but on my custom domain, now i know of domains.live.com and have setup an account with my domain, but have a few questions i cant find answers to anywhere.

1, would it be wise to setup the custom domain with a separate account, or will it be ok to use a clean fresh admin account with the domain (so the first user gets created when signing up and is classed as the admin of the accounts)

2. will this work with office 365 home premium?


i have my own domain that ive started using because im self employed, but i dont want to go for the full blown office 365 business accounts, becuase i love the feel of skydrive and outlook.com ( im not a big fan of sharepoin interface, tried the new sharepoint preview and still not as visually welcoming as skydrive :p)

jsut a note: currently with google apps for business and growing bored and tired with them.

#8 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 22 February 2013 - 23:52

You can do the former, but it's pretty risky.

Personally I would suggest using a personal account to admin the domain, and then set up accounts after that.

No idea about part 2. However, domains.live.com is a free service. So set up the domain on it and you can use it >.>

It gives you all the services that a free hotmail account does but with your own domain name.

#9 mrlcutleruk83

mrlcutleruk83

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-February 13

Posted 23 February 2013 - 00:20

thanks for the quick reply, will redo as you said :D

#10 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 23 February 2013 - 00:26

Enjoy :D