Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 : A step backwards for the .net famework?


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 15 October 2012 - 15:01

I’ve never been a fan of the .net framework. It always takes forever to install and back in the XP days most machines didn’t have it. Well .net still takes forever to install but in Windows 7 anything that required.net “Just workes”.

Now in Windows 8 all of that is changing again. Last night I went to open up “Patchmypc” on my windows 8 machine. I was prompted that I did not have 2.0 or 3.5 and it gave me the option to install it. So I clicked install and 5 mins later it had downloaded and installed and I could use “Patchmypc”. This was never an issue on windows 7 it just worked.

Now I’m becoming annoyed with .net all over again.


#2 siah1214

siah1214

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 09-April 12

Posted 15 October 2012 - 15:05

I’ve never been a fan of the .net framework. It always takes forever to install and back in the XP days most machines didn’t have it. Well .net still takes forever to install but in Windows 7 anything that required.net “Just workes”.

Now in Windows 8 all of that is changing again. Last night I went to open up “Patchmypc” on my windows 8 machine. I was prompted that I did not have 2.0 or 3.5 and it gave me the option to install it. So I clicked install and 5 mins later it had downloaded and installed and I could use “Patchmypc”. This was never an issue on windows 7 it just worked.

Now I’m becoming annoyed with .net all over again.

I’ve never been a fan of the .net framework. It always takes forever to install and back in the XP days most machines didn’t have it. Well .net still takes forever to install but in Windows 7 anything that required.net “Just workes”.

Now in Windows 8 all of that is changing again. Last night I went to open up “Patchmypc” on my windows 8 machine. I was prompted that I did not have 2.0 or 3.5 and it gave me the option to install it. So I clicked install and 5 mins later it had downloaded and installed and I could use “Patchmypc”. This was never an issue on windows 7 it just worked.

Now I’m becoming annoyed with .net all over again.

I don't know WTF you're talking about because .Net never "just worked" on 7.... can't tell you how much of a huge pain in the ass .net is for when you're trying to deploy applications, not matter what OS they're running.

#3 qdave

qdave

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-October 02
  • Location: Vilnius, Lithuania | Toronto,On

Posted 15 October 2012 - 15:05

I think in Windows 8 there is only .net 4.5, which might not be backward compatable to 2.0. Anyway blame developers for using old stuff, not windows 8 :D

#4 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 15 October 2012 - 15:06

I don't know WTF you're talking about because .Net never "just worked" on 7.... can't tell you how much of a huge pain in the ass .net is for when you're trying to deploy applications, not matter what OS they're running.


Well in the case of applications that required dotnet 2.0 like patchmypc and CDburner XP they always "just worked". Now they don't anymore.

#5 +Harrison H.

Harrison H.

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-August 04
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 15 October 2012 - 15:07

I think they decided to not include 3.5 by default was to try to push towards the newer 4.X versions.

#6 +Brandon Live

Brandon Live

    Seattle geek

  • Joined: 08-June 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted 15 October 2012 - 15:07

Every version of Windows ships with the newest version of the framework. Windows 8 ships with version 4.5. Most apps should run against it regardless of what they were written for, but if the app author specified that a specific version was required (i.e. 2.0-3.5 in your case) then it will be downloaded and installed on-demand. Including this by default would have taken up significant disk space when most people will never use it. Even in cases like yours, this step will go away if the app author removes the version requirement from their app, or builds it against .NET 4.x.

#7 ZakO

ZakO

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-September 07
  • Location: Finland

Posted 15 October 2012 - 15:08

I’ve never been a fan of the .net framework. It always takes forever to install and back in the XP days most machines didn’t have it. Well .net still takes forever to install but in Windows 7 anything that required.net “Just workes”.

Now in Windows 8 all of that is changing again. Last night I went to open up “Patchmypc” on my windows 8 machine. I was prompted that I did not have 2.0 or 3.5 and it gave me the option to install it. So I clicked install and 5 mins later it had downloaded and installed and I could use “Patchmypc”. This was never an issue on windows 7 it just worked.

Now I’m becoming annoyed with .net all over again.


Windows 7 includes the .NET 3.5 runtime (which has support for .NET 3.5, 3.0 and 2.0)
Windows 8 includes the .NET 4.5 runtime (which has support for .NET 4.5 and 4.0)

As you stated in your post, if you have an app built with < .NET 4.0 you simply have to click "yes" and it installs the framework with no problems. What is there to be 'annoyed' about?

#8 Jygoro

Jygoro

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 09

Posted 15 October 2012 - 15:10

A faster way to install .net 2/3 support is using dism

dism.exe /online /enable-feature /featurename:NetFX3 /Source:X:\sources\sxs

being X: the pendrive/DVD drive with Windows iso content

#9 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 15 October 2012 - 15:11

Windows 7 includes the .NET 3.5 runtime (which has support for .NET 3.5, 3.0 and 2.0)
Windows 8 includes the .NET 4.5 runtime (which has support for .NET 4.5 and 4.0)

As you stated in your post, if you have an app built with < .NET 4.0 you simply have to click "yes" and it installs the framework with no problems. What is there to be 'annoyed' about?


Because of how long .net takes to install. Do you know .net 4 can sometimes take more than 5 minutes to install?

#10 qdave

qdave

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-October 02
  • Location: Vilnius, Lithuania | Toronto,On

Posted 15 October 2012 - 15:17

Cant you spare 5 mins? It's not like you have to install it every day ;)

#11 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 15 October 2012 - 15:19

Cant you spare 5 mins? It's not like you have to install it every day ;)


In the case of patchmypc I run it on every machine I work on. (though in this case he could fix it in his code)

#12 Shaun N.

Shaun N.

    Perfidious

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-November 04
  • Location: Northants, England
  • OS: Work: Windows 8/Ubuntu Home: Ubuntu

Posted 15 October 2012 - 15:25

I'm not a fan of Windows 8 but this thread just sounds like crying.

#13 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 15 October 2012 - 15:27

I'm not a fan of Windows 8 but this thread just sounds like crying.


Not crying, just saying never was an issue on windows 7.

#14 vetCalum

Calum

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-January 07

Posted 15 October 2012 - 16:21

Not crying, just saying never was an issue on windows 7.

That's because .NET Framework 3.5 was the latest version 3 whole years ago, when Windows 7 was released. You can't blame Microsoft for this, when the developer has had over 2 years to update their app (since .NET Framework 4.0 was released). It isn't Microsoft's fault that his app "just worked" on Windows 7 and it doesn't on Windows 8; it's up to the developer to ensure their app works. Microsoft doesn't update developers' apps for them, and you can't expect them to.

#15 +Brandon Live

Brandon Live

    Seattle geek

  • Joined: 08-June 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted 15 October 2012 - 16:30

Not crying, just saying never was an issue on windows 7.


Actually the exact same issue existed on Windows 7 for apps which required .NET 1.x. The main thing that's changed in Windows 8 is that instead of the older versions being on the install disc, the bits are now downloaded from WU. This saves space on install discs / OEM images, and ensures you always get the latest version (versus having to install the on-disc one, then download the latest SP and security updates).



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!