Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 Start Button?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 thechronic

thechronic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-July 05
  • Location: UK

Posted 27 October 2012 - 12:35

Is there a way to add a start button to Windows 8 that opens the Start Screen. I just kinda miss having the Orb there lol


#2 HoochieMamma

HoochieMamma

    Professional Hoochie™

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Melbourne, AU
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 27 October 2012 - 12:45

Here you go buddy, Windows 7 Start Menu on the way!

http://classicshell.sourceforge.net/

#3 Ely

Ely

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-October 01
  • Location: Miami FL
  • OS: Windows 10
  • Phone: HTC M8 & HTC 8X

Posted 27 October 2012 - 12:55

Start8 is the most professional looking and easier to use Start Menu replacement I have seen so far, you have options for making it look like Windows 7 or if you rather just have the icon bring up the new Start Screen (That's how I have it) You also have options to bring up the new Start Screen by clicking the icon and still have the Windows 7 Start Menu when click on the start key on your keyboard and viceversa, very cool, try it out.

StartMenu-StartScreen-Icons.png

#4 IronSkull

IronSkull

    El Rechazo Del Diablo

  • Joined: 03-November 07
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Galaxy Note II

Posted 29 October 2012 - 04:05

I'd recommend Start8 as well, works like a charm and is pretty cool looking too.

#5 notuptome2004

notuptome2004

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-October 04

Posted 29 October 2012 - 04:10

he wants the start screen not the start menu and you already have a start screen button it is the windows key on your keyboard

#6 Boo Berry

Boo Berry

    Neowinian Ghost

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 26-March 05
  • Location: United States
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit Mac OS X Yosemite 10.10.1 Ubuntu 14.10 64-bit

Posted 29 October 2012 - 04:36

Start8 and Classic Shell both provide this ability - opening the new start menu via button, and not a custom one.

#7 Darrian

Darrian

    The Apathetic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 22-October 01

Posted 29 October 2012 - 04:55

That is true, Boo, but Start8 is clearly the better alternative right now. It's much more easily customizable and looks great.

#8 Shiranui

Shiranui

    Iconoclast

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 24-December 03

Posted 29 October 2012 - 07:55

... or if you rather just have the icon bring up the new Start Screen (That's how I have it) ...


W(hy)TF?

#9 Sulphy

Sulphy

    Sulphurious

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-November 09
  • Location: Northampton
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Android - HTC ONE M8

Posted 29 October 2012 - 08:01

You should also check out Pokki - https://www.pokki.com/
I find it pretty cool!

#10 Arceles

Arceles

    Time Craymel

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-November 09
  • Location: 4th dimmension.
  • OS: Win 7 Ultimate / Win 8.1 Pro (With Start Menu Start8, otherwise is UNUSABLE) / Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean
  • Phone: XT890 Motorola RAZRi (x86 processor)

Posted 29 October 2012 - 08:17

Another vote for start 8 but all the alternatives mentioned are great.

#11 68k

68k

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-January 10
  • Location: Australia

Posted 29 October 2012 - 08:20

Steve Ballmer: "Hahahaha. A Start button? He want's a Start button? Who actually ever used it? Microsoft research has proven no one. Hahahaha." He was right about the iPhone too.

#12 OP thechronic

thechronic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-July 05
  • Location: UK

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:31

Thanks guys appreciate this

#13 Island Dog

Island Dog

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 04-April 04
  • Location: St. Cloud, FL.

Posted 02 November 2012 - 21:14

With Start8, you can configure the buttons to how you like it. For instance on my PC, if I press the keyboard button I have it set to open Metro, and if I click it with my cursor it opens the start menu.

11-2-2012 5-12-48 PM.png

#14 DGMurdockIII

DGMurdockIII

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-July 08
  • Location: Indianapolis, IN

Posted 05 November 2012 - 04:38

start8 is not free

#15 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 05 November 2012 - 04:46

start8 is not free

No, but classic shell is. Depends how many features you'd like. Each to their own.
Tbh, it should be included with Windows 8, but hey.