Jump to content



Photo

Time keeps changing by itself on Windows 7


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#16 mduren2445

mduren2445

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-March 06

Posted 29 October 2012 - 00:40

if the battery is old , change it if you are haveing issues. A weak battery can cause problems that a $3 battery can fix


#17 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 29 October 2012 - 02:30

"Time zone: Current:TIME_ZONE_ID_UNKNOWN"

Well clearly that is NOT right.. So yeah you could be having some issues to be sure.

Fix your current timezone - you got something wrong.

I changed mine to Jerusalem and get this.

C:\Windows\system32>w32tm /tz
Time zone: Current:TIME_ZONE_ID_STANDARD Bias: -120min (UTC=LocalTime+Bias)
[Standard Name:"Jerusalem Standard Time" Bias:0min Date:(M:9 D:4 DoW:0)]
[Daylight Name:"Jerusalem Daylight Time" Bias:-60min Date:(M:3 D:5 DoW:5)]

And I would verify what your bios is set to.. If its UTC you should know, not think so.

#18 Wakers

Wakers

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-July 07

Posted 29 October 2012 - 08:10

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
© 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Ian>C:\Windows\system32\w32tm /tz
Time zone: Current:TIME_ZONE_ID_STANDARD Bias: -60min (UTC=LocalTime+Bias)
[Standard Name:"Central Europe Standard Time" Bias:0min Date:(M:10 D:5 DoW:0)]

[Daylight Name:"Central Europe Summer Time" Bias:-60min Date:(M:3 D:5 DoW:0)]

C:\Users\Ian>

Can someone help me out here? When I turned my PC on at 0907 this morning, Windows said the time was 0038 (which is probably the time that I turned the PC off). I've noticed that if I have an application running in full screen on the monitor where the clock is, the clock will not update either.

The time is correct in the BIOS and it's a new motherboard (less than 2 months old).

#19 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 29 October 2012 - 15:13

Are you actually turning it OFF, or putting it into standby/hibernate?

Clock not updating is not related to the OP issue at all -- I would suggest you start your own thread vs confusing this one with your non related issue.