Jump to content



Photo

"Add Features" Missing - Windows 8 Pro VLK


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Zoom7000

Zoom7000

    The Ankle Breaker

  • Joined: 12-November 03
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1/OS X 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone 4

Posted 28 October 2012 - 12:26

I managed to get a free product key for Media Center yesterday as Microsoft is offering them for free at the moment. However, I don't have the "Add Features" tool available in Settings on my copy of Windows 8 Pro which I got from VLSC and hence I'm unable to install Media Center. It seems that anyone using a VLK is affected as I've seen by other comments on Microsoft's Social Forums.

Has anyone here experienced the same problem, or found a fix?


#2 shifts

shifts

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-October 03

Posted 28 October 2012 - 12:55

Have you activated he copy of Windows 8, seems to be only available when that's done

#3 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 28 October 2012 - 13:13

I don't think the volume licensing version has the ability to add new feature keys. That's likely supposed to be managed by your IT department with group policies.

#4 Leofiresign31

Leofiresign31

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 07-December 12

Posted 07 December 2012 - 16:30

Are there any follow up's to this issue? I am the IT Department at my company and......wait for it....I am the admin. So, why is this, "add features," option stripped out? That's not cool. Any updates would be greatly appreciated.

#5 majortom1981

majortom1981

    The crazy one

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-November 01

Posted 07 December 2012 - 16:33

Are there any follow up's to this issue? I am the IT Department at my company and......wait for it....I am the admin. So, why is this, "add features," option stripped out? That's not cool. Any updates would be greatly appreciated.


They feel IT departments do not need media center. No update . Still need to have the regular version

#6 Yazoo

Yazoo

    Just a regular guy

  • Joined: 23-October 01

Posted 07 December 2012 - 16:35

I had to buy the retail upgrade to use the MC key. Enterprise version of Win8 does not support MC.

#7 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 07 December 2012 - 16:36

It's because it changes the actual license key for the OS. If you're an IT guy you should know what that means for VLK situations. ;)

#8 Arkos Reed

Arkos Reed

    The Slayer of Gods

  • Joined: 28-December 01
  • Location: The one and only rivierra

Posted 07 December 2012 - 16:38

You need a FFP or OEM version to install MC