Jump to content



Photo

NAS or HTPC?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 +McCordRm

McCordRm

    http://richardmccord.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-July 06
  • Location: Dallas, TX

Posted 30 October 2012 - 21:43

I currently have a pretty cheap NAS setup which streams movies to
my new TV through DLNA. However, it doesn't allow me to sort
Alphabetically, only by the date the movie was added to the NAS.

So I'm curious if I'll get better functionality building an HTPC instead
of using a NAS setup. I'd like to keep it fairly cheap (price of hard drives
aside, of course). Suggestions?


#2 Enron

Enron

    Windows for Workgroups

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-May 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1 U1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900

Posted 30 October 2012 - 21:44

Can't you have a HTPC that gets media off the NAS?

#3 OP +McCordRm

McCordRm

    http://richardmccord.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-July 06
  • Location: Dallas, TX

Posted 30 October 2012 - 21:45

That's two machines to do one job. Thus the Either/Or question.

#4 Enron

Enron

    Windows for Workgroups

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-May 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1 U1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900

Posted 30 October 2012 - 21:47

Can never have enough machines. I would use both.

#5 OP +McCordRm

McCordRm

    http://richardmccord.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-July 06
  • Location: Dallas, TX

Posted 30 October 2012 - 22:03

Nope, too much.
I don't want to dedicate a computer to serving files to yet another
system that then serves files to my TV. That's just too many steps.
I want a single solution to work as my network backup (thus ripped
movies from my DvDs and music) and be able to serve those files
to my TV. I already have a cheap NAS, but when the TV reads the files
it auto sorts them by date, with no way to change it to Alphabetically.

If there's a NAS that will allow that, I'm all ears. Otherwise, I'll be
looking for an HTPC solution.

#6 Kami-

Kami-

    ♫ d(-_-)b ♫

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-July 08
  • Location: SandBox

Posted 31 October 2012 - 00:07

I use a NAS box to serve media to numerous 'Boxee Boxes' - also my NAS sorts alphabetically by default - D-Link make it, but I can't recall the model number at the mo, it's a pain in the to get at too lol.

#7 Inertia

Inertia

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-November 02
  • Location: Rochdale UK

Posted 31 October 2012 - 00:55

I use a HTPC in my lounge because it can play any format then, DLNA TV's don't support enough containers / codecs, there's always something that wont play, in many cases most things wont play.

Something like a Intel G840 CPU, GIGABYTE GA-H61M-DS2 Motherboard, A lowish end graphics card with hdmi out and 4gb DDR3 1333mhz wont set you back too much.

#8 Open Minded

Open Minded

    Balance

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 14-July 11
  • Location: California

Posted 31 October 2012 - 01:02

I'm on the fence right now with this same question. I think I'm going to go the NAS route, only because it's a little cheaper. If I had some extra money, I would get a 35 watt Ivy Bridge with a 7x series chipset and use that to serve files and be the HTPC.
Comes down to price and what options you want.

#9 cybertimber2008

cybertimber2008

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-December 08

Posted 31 October 2012 - 02:00

What OS is the NAS running? Could you run something like XBMC on it, since I assume the NAS is connected to your TV? I mean... if you made a HTPC it'd need to be connected to the TV so I'm assuming you're open to connecting it to a TV anyway.

#10 OP +McCordRm

McCordRm

    http://richardmccord.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-July 06
  • Location: Dallas, TX

Posted 31 October 2012 - 02:45

My NAS is a Seagate Black Armor 220, and is connected to my home network.

As for OS... I have no idea. The web panel doesn't even tell me the model number.

#11 Lindkvist

Lindkvist

  • Joined: 07-July 02

Posted 05 November 2012 - 19:06

Pivos Xios-DS, they have an XBMC firmware for it (Linux).
I'm ggoing get it, when it gets released to the EU market

and it's dirt cheap

#12 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 05 November 2012 - 19:34

http://www.mini-box....ITX-Motherboard