Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Allan®

Allan®

    Still Unbanned

  • Joined: 02-May 04
  • Location: U[universe]:\Milky Way\Sol\Terra\North America\Canada\Ontario\Toronto.city
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:26

Called Microsoft Tech Support, as I've had around 100 'Warnings' a day in the event viewer about Source: Disk, Description: The IO operation at logical block address 8ea3e8 for Disk 1 was retried. (the bolded area changes every time.)
EDIT : THERE IS NO FREEZING OF MY SYSTEM. SMART, and Intel's Disk Diagnostic, and sfc /scannow all come back 100% "fine", with no errors, etc.
EDIT: The disk is an Intel 330 SSD. It's runing in AHCI mode, and under Win 7 had NO issues of this sort. (I check my logs religiously ... ie on Sundays, after church.)


Part of phone conversation:
MS: This is normal.
Me: This didn't show up/happen in Windows 7.
MS: Oh, that's because logging in Windows 8 is different.

So my request for the NW community is thus:
EVERYONE please, check your EVENT VIEWER > Windows Logs > System.
Click the "Source" header to sort ... or use a FILTER and beside "by source" select disk (with a lowercase d).
Post back here a few things.
1: Windows Version
2: Hard Drive (Type (SSD/HDD), Manufacture (Intel, WD, Seagate, etc)
3: Did you see the error "The IO operation at logical block address [RANDOM ADDRESS] for Disk 1 was retried."

Thank you in advance, for your help.

Posted Image


#2 theefool

theefool

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-October 04

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:35

http://scottiestech....-worked-for-me/

#3 stumper66

stumper66

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-January 09
  • Location: Dallas, TX, USA

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:40

You have a bad hard drive. No need to run a poll on other people's behaviors.

#4 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:45

I do not have any disk events since I upgraded to Windows 8. The last one I have is dated 9/20/2012 and it's for a USB thumb drive.

What type of drive is that disk, and have you scanned it to make sure there's nothing wrong with it?

#5 OP Allan®

Allan®

    Still Unbanned

  • Joined: 02-May 04
  • Location: U[universe]:\Milky Way\Sol\Terra\North America\Canada\Ontario\Toronto.city
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:46

http://scottiestech....-worked-for-me/

Not the issue, there (as I edited in P1) no freezing, etc.

#6 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:50

Not the issue, there (as I edited in P1) no freezing, etc.


Read his post carefully. While you may not be getting the freezes, the post does address tye specific error you mentioned.

I would at least try it.

#7 darth_vader

darth_vader

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-January 07
  • Location: Tatooine

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:56

When using my usb stick I get the same warning, no errors or problems though.

#8 OP Allan®

Allan®

    Still Unbanned

  • Joined: 02-May 04
  • Location: U[universe]:\Milky Way\Sol\Terra\North America\Canada\Ontario\Toronto.city
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:59

Read his post carefully. While you may not be getting the freezes, the post does address tye specific error you mentioned.

I would at least try it.

Tried it, and am still receiving the error. :s

#9 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 31 October 2012 - 16:08

So just to check. In Disk Management, what drive shows up as disk 1?

#10 OP Allan®

Allan®

    Still Unbanned

  • Joined: 02-May 04
  • Location: U[universe]:\Milky Way\Sol\Terra\North America\Canada\Ontario\Toronto.city
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 31 October 2012 - 16:13

So just to check. In Disk Management, what drive shows up as disk 1?

Disk 0: Seagate Momentus XT 500GB
Disk 1: Intel 330 Series SSD 120GB
Disk 2: (External) Seagate GoFlex Desk 2TB

#11 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 31 October 2012 - 16:19

Hmm. I checked mine and I do see an entry like that once. It looks like in my case it was for a thumb drive though.

Looking again at your log that is a ton of them. Have you done a long test on the HD already, or just a short one?

#12 OP Allan®

Allan®

    Still Unbanned

  • Joined: 02-May 04
  • Location: U[universe]:\Milky Way\Sol\Terra\North America\Canada\Ontario\Toronto.city
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 31 October 2012 - 16:26

Hmm. I checked mine and I do see an entry like that once. It looks like in my case it was for a thumb drive though.

Looking again at your log that is a ton of them. Have you done a long test on the HD already, or just a short one?

Intel Toolbox Quick Diagnostic & Long Diagnostic, SMART Check, sfc /scannow, and I turned off the laptop, did a headstand, holding the SSD chanting something someone in Africa said would stop the problem ... no change, except my head hurts now. ;)

#13 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 31 October 2012 - 16:30

Intel Toolbox Quick Diagnostic & Long Diagnostic, SMART Check, sfc /scannow, and I turned off the laptop, did a headstand, holding the SSD chanting something someone in Africa said would stop the problem ... no change, except my head hurts now. ;)


LOL

#14 Denis W.

Denis W.

    The True North!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 06-March 05
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario [CA]
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro and OS X Mavericks
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 31 October 2012 - 16:31

http://scottiestech....-worked-for-me/


Interesting link. I did notice a load of storahci events when attempting to connect a SSD via a toaster dock to my computer. (Actually for that matter, it occurs each time I connect a mechanical drive via the toaster, but only occurs once. For the SSD it was frequent and made the drive unusable.)

#15 OP Allan®

Allan®

    Still Unbanned

  • Joined: 02-May 04
  • Location: U[universe]:\Milky Way\Sol\Terra\North America\Canada\Ontario\Toronto.city
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 31 October 2012 - 16:33

My thoughs are thus:
Using Disk Manager, I'm going to shrink drive 0 (Momentus XT), and move files from "D" to the partitioned area.
Move windows to the XT drive, and see if I have problems. If not, then I'll just sell the Intel 330 and say "meh" to SSD's for now.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!