Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Allan®

Allan®

    Still Unbanned

  • Joined: 02-May 04
  • Location: U[universe]:\Milky Way\Sol\Terra\North America\Canada\Ontario\Toronto.city
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:26

Called Microsoft Tech Support, as I've had around 100 'Warnings' a day in the event viewer about Source: Disk, Description: The IO operation at logical block address 8ea3e8 for Disk 1 was retried. (the bolded area changes every time.)
EDIT : THERE IS NO FREEZING OF MY SYSTEM. SMART, and Intel's Disk Diagnostic, and sfc /scannow all come back 100% "fine", with no errors, etc.
EDIT: The disk is an Intel 330 SSD. It's runing in AHCI mode, and under Win 7 had NO issues of this sort. (I check my logs religiously ... ie on Sundays, after church.)


Part of phone conversation:
MS: This is normal.
Me: This didn't show up/happen in Windows 7.
MS: Oh, that's because logging in Windows 8 is different.

So my request for the NW community is thus:
EVERYONE please, check your EVENT VIEWER > Windows Logs > System.
Click the "Source" header to sort ... or use a FILTER and beside "by source" select disk (with a lowercase d).
Post back here a few things.
1: Windows Version
2: Hard Drive (Type (SSD/HDD), Manufacture (Intel, WD, Seagate, etc)
3: Did you see the error "The IO operation at logical block address [RANDOM ADDRESS] for Disk 1 was retried."

Thank you in advance, for your help.

Posted Image


#2 theefool

theefool

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-October 04

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:35

http://scottiestech....-worked-for-me/

#3 stumper66

stumper66

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-January 09
  • Location: Dallas, TX, USA

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:40

You have a bad hard drive. No need to run a poll on other people's behaviors.

#4 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:45

I do not have any disk events since I upgraded to Windows 8. The last one I have is dated 9/20/2012 and it's for a USB thumb drive.

What type of drive is that disk, and have you scanned it to make sure there's nothing wrong with it?

#5 OP Allan®

Allan®

    Still Unbanned

  • Joined: 02-May 04
  • Location: U[universe]:\Milky Way\Sol\Terra\North America\Canada\Ontario\Toronto.city
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:46

http://scottiestech....-worked-for-me/

Not the issue, there (as I edited in P1) no freezing, etc.

#6 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:50

Not the issue, there (as I edited in P1) no freezing, etc.


Read his post carefully. While you may not be getting the freezes, the post does address tye specific error you mentioned.

I would at least try it.

#7 darth_vader

darth_vader

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-January 07
  • Location: Tatooine

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:56

When using my usb stick I get the same warning, no errors or problems though.

#8 OP Allan®

Allan®

    Still Unbanned

  • Joined: 02-May 04
  • Location: U[universe]:\Milky Way\Sol\Terra\North America\Canada\Ontario\Toronto.city
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:59

Read his post carefully. While you may not be getting the freezes, the post does address tye specific error you mentioned.

I would at least try it.

Tried it, and am still receiving the error. :s

#9 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 31 October 2012 - 16:08

So just to check. In Disk Management, what drive shows up as disk 1?

#10 OP Allan®

Allan®

    Still Unbanned

  • Joined: 02-May 04
  • Location: U[universe]:\Milky Way\Sol\Terra\North America\Canada\Ontario\Toronto.city
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 31 October 2012 - 16:13

So just to check. In Disk Management, what drive shows up as disk 1?

Disk 0: Seagate Momentus XT 500GB
Disk 1: Intel 330 Series SSD 120GB
Disk 2: (External) Seagate GoFlex Desk 2TB

#11 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 31 October 2012 - 16:19

Hmm. I checked mine and I do see an entry like that once. It looks like in my case it was for a thumb drive though.

Looking again at your log that is a ton of them. Have you done a long test on the HD already, or just a short one?

#12 OP Allan®

Allan®

    Still Unbanned

  • Joined: 02-May 04
  • Location: U[universe]:\Milky Way\Sol\Terra\North America\Canada\Ontario\Toronto.city
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 31 October 2012 - 16:26

Hmm. I checked mine and I do see an entry like that once. It looks like in my case it was for a thumb drive though.

Looking again at your log that is a ton of them. Have you done a long test on the HD already, or just a short one?

Intel Toolbox Quick Diagnostic & Long Diagnostic, SMART Check, sfc /scannow, and I turned off the laptop, did a headstand, holding the SSD chanting something someone in Africa said would stop the problem ... no change, except my head hurts now. ;)

#13 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 31 October 2012 - 16:30

Intel Toolbox Quick Diagnostic & Long Diagnostic, SMART Check, sfc /scannow, and I turned off the laptop, did a headstand, holding the SSD chanting something someone in Africa said would stop the problem ... no change, except my head hurts now. ;)


LOL

#14 Denis W.

Denis W.

    The True North!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 06-March 05
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario [CA]
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro and OS X Mavericks
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 31 October 2012 - 16:31

http://scottiestech....-worked-for-me/


Interesting link. I did notice a load of storahci events when attempting to connect a SSD via a toaster dock to my computer. (Actually for that matter, it occurs each time I connect a mechanical drive via the toaster, but only occurs once. For the SSD it was frequent and made the drive unusable.)

#15 OP Allan®

Allan®

    Still Unbanned

  • Joined: 02-May 04
  • Location: U[universe]:\Milky Way\Sol\Terra\North America\Canada\Ontario\Toronto.city
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 31 October 2012 - 16:33

My thoughs are thus:
Using Disk Manager, I'm going to shrink drive 0 (Momentus XT), and move files from "D" to the partitioned area.
Move windows to the XT drive, and see if I have problems. If not, then I'll just sell the Intel 330 and say "meh" to SSD's for now.