Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 Pro Activation


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Asrokhel

Asrokhel

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-April 12
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro x64 (testing to see if I keep it or go back to Windows 7)

Posted 01 November 2012 - 22:35

So I caved and bought W8P, cost me $80 after taxes.

I still hate Metro and the Start Screen, so I'll be buying Start8 so I can go directly to the desktop.

I haven't installed W8P yet because I have the following question:

I do have Internet access, but it's not currently working, so will I be able to temporarily bypass the online activation or is there a way to activate it over the phone?


#2 DrScouse

DrScouse

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-November 03

Posted 01 November 2012 - 22:51

I never had my internet connected and it installed fine, just didn't activate...I don't know how long you can run it like this for though, as I connected up shortly after.. but it did install, and I was using it before I hooked it back up.

I was really dubious about metro..but I now love it... makes the traditional desktop seem somewhat dull! Live tiles and apps make my start screen more interactive now...

#3 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 01 November 2012 - 22:55

Nobody nearby have open wifi that you could temporarily connect to? :p

#4 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 02 November 2012 - 00:16

I was really dubious about metro..but I now love it... makes the traditional desktop seem somewhat dull! Live tiles and apps make my start screen more interactive now...


Same here. It's taken me several days to get the hang of it, though.

And to the OP, you should be able to activate by phone.

#5 Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 02 November 2012 - 01:05

I installed without internet access, and it just let me activate later when I had internet access. It does restrict you though (when you're not activated) - you cant personalize was the main thing I noticed, however you can still use your system and do most things. (Now that I think of it, not being able to personalize was the only thing I noticed xD)
Just go ahead and install and activate later.
Alternatively you can do it by phone if you cant wait until you get internet access.

#6 OP Asrokhel

Asrokhel

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-April 12
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro x64 (testing to see if I keep it or go back to Windows 7)

Posted 02 November 2012 - 01:34

Nobody nearby have open wifi that you could temporarily connect to? :p



I have a desktop, not a laptop, so I don't use WiFi.

#7 myxomatosis

myxomatosis

    Shrinking Universe

  • Joined: 21-January 04
  • Location: Montréal (Canada)

Posted 02 November 2012 - 01:39

No problem. Install it and use it. You can always activate it later when you have an Internet access. The ony thing you won't be able to do until your copy is activated: Changing the login screen background and the "Metro" background. Everything else will be 100% functional

#8 giantpotato

giantpotato

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-January 04
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Posted 02 November 2012 - 15:02

Maybe it's possible to share your phone's internet via USB?

#9 Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 02 November 2012 - 17:10

Maybe it's possible to share your phone's internet via USB?

Good point, I used to turn on WiFi hotspot on my iPhone when I was stuck without a connection. It can be quite fast too if you are in good 3G reception. (Or If you are lucky enough to have 4G reception)

#10 OP Asrokhel

Asrokhel

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-April 12
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro x64 (testing to see if I keep it or go back to Windows 7)

Posted 02 November 2012 - 18:57

Maybe it's possible to share your phone's internet via USB?


I already tried, after my Internet connection went down last week, for some reason Tether refuses to work with the Galaxy Nexus. So, if I do install it, I'll wait until I have a working Internet connection again.