Jump to content



Photo

Arch Linux Triple Head


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 04 November 2012 - 01:39

Hey,

I am not able to really get triple monitor support working in Arch Linux (latest version) using GNOME 3 and the official nvidia drivers.

Is there something I am missing? Can't find any good information of this online.

I have three screens with 2 on a GTX 580 and one on a GTX 260. The cards are not in sli (as they aren't the same model)

Thanks. Trying to get back into Linux and this is the only thing that is tripping me up.

My searching leads to many saying triple head is very rare. I just can't believe that since Linux users are usually more technical and us technical users know and love many screen support.


#2 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 04 November 2012 - 01:44

Try installing the nvidia tools and using nvidia's X11 conf output.
I've got it working 2 ways, using X11 and gnome3 without an X11 conf gives me one screen. Using the nvidia X11 output with twinview gives me 1 large screen based over 2 monitors.

#3 OP +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 04 November 2012 - 05:25

Try installing the nvidia tools and using nvidia's X11 conf output.
I've got it working 2 ways, using X11 and gnome3 without an X11 conf gives me one screen. Using the nvidia X11 output with twinview gives me 1 large screen based over 2 monitors.


Yea I was able to get the same, but I wasn't able to get all three screens on such a setup as Twin View will only allow you to span multiple screens on a single card. I'm not sure if it extends past dual head on the same card as I only have two connected to the 580.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!