Jump to content



Photo

User management on windows 8


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 +Matthew S.

Matthew S.

    Your worst nightmare

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-December 05
  • Location: Georgetown, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 / Mac OS X 10.10.x / iOS 8.x
  • Phone: iPhone 6 Plus 64GB

Posted 04 November 2012 - 06:04

I just recently upgraded my dev preview to rtm and I was adding on my family's used accounts and noticed a stupid little tidbit... You have to use two bloody control panels to manage users... Wtf!?


#2 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 04 November 2012 - 12:56

Eh? You don't need anything except the Win RT control panel to add users. You have to use the Win32 ones to edit or remove them. What are you having trouble with?

#3 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 04 November 2012 - 13:11

Ah right I see, you have to open the normal classic user accounts window but when you click "Add new user" it opens the Metro user control panel

#4 OP +Matthew S.

Matthew S.

    Your worst nightmare

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-December 05
  • Location: Georgetown, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 / Mac OS X 10.10.x / iOS 8.x
  • Phone: iPhone 6 Plus 64GB

Posted 05 November 2012 - 04:09

Eh? You don't need anything except the Win RT control panel to add users. You have to use the Win32 ones to edit or remove them. What are you having trouble with?

It makes no bloody sense to have to use the classic control panel to remove users...