Jump to content



Photo

What I hate about Windows 8 (not start menu related)


  • Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

#1 Hitman2000

Hitman2000

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-July 05

Posted 13 November 2012 - 05:05

What Im having trouble with is the stupid UAC and Admin permissions

Ok so you cant turn off UAC completely because then it wont let you run metro apps.
Or even if you give admin rights to a user you still get the stupid prompts when trying to write/delete into C: Program Files

Unable to run metro apps with the built in admistrator account.

Sure i can understand for average joes MS dosent want them to have full access because of security reasons

but why is the administrator level privliges and the admin account so crippled!!!

Anyone know work arounds for these.


#2 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 13 November 2012 - 05:07

It's best to run your own account, and not the admin account.

I think the question is why are you trying to run a less secure rig?

#3 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 13 November 2012 - 05:07

use the GPO

#4 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Way past cool.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 13 November 2012 - 05:10

What are you doing that you're being prompted so much? It's not crippled, it's doing exactly what it was designed to do. Why are you prodding around Program Files?

#5 OP Hitman2000

Hitman2000

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-July 05

Posted 13 November 2012 - 05:19

It's best to run your own account, and not the admin account.

I think the question is why are you trying to run a less secure rig?


I ran the admin account because even after I gave my normal account admin privliges it will still prompt me something similar to " You need admin credientials to copy the file", it just bugged me.

What are you doing that you're being prompted so much? It's not crippled, it's doing exactly what it was designed to do. Why are you prodding around Program Files?

I have a few games installed and I wanted to manually copy some maps etc. into them and I hate the damn prompts.

I tried the take owenership trick and then editing the security policy, but I still cant run metro apps with UAC disabled or through the admin account

#6 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 13 November 2012 - 05:28

Trading security for ease of avoiding a few prompts?

Not a good idea imo.

#7 +CrossCheck

CrossCheck

    i am a retarded disfigured clown

  • Joined: 26-October 08
  • Location: Clearfield, Utah

Posted 13 November 2012 - 05:46

I have my uac turned off and can run and install metro apps. you might wanna reinstall cuz that sounds like a bug/glitch to me.

#8 OP Hitman2000

Hitman2000

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-July 05

Posted 13 November 2012 - 05:55

Ok I finally figured it out.

Did a bit of searching on the internet and tinkering around.

for those who are interested or might want to do the same:

So I made a new account, gave it admin privliges,turned UAC back on via registry but set it to never notify in control panel.
Took ownership of the program files folder and changed the security policy to let my account have full control of it.

So now apps are working and no more annoying messages.

Yes I understand I have decreased the security of my system but for my peace of mind it was worth it! and it bringing me a step closer to accepting windows 8. :)

#9 Andrea Borman

Andrea Borman

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 11
  • Location: England

Posted 13 November 2012 - 06:22

Well at the moment I am running Windows 8 RP 32 bit on one of my netbooks that used to have Windows 7. And I just have the one account,the administrator account.But because I am running Windows 8 on a netbook, I don't have any Metro apps. So I just have the ordinary software that I run on Windows 7 and Windows XP. there are one or two software's that don't work well on Windows 8 like they do on windows 7 and the other versions of Windows.So Windows 8 looses a couple of points, but apart from that Windows 8 is very much like Windows 7 and Windows Vista.And I have got the start button and Windows 7 start menu on Windows 8 thanks to Classic Shell.

#10 +Brando212

Brando212

    Causer of disasters

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: right behind you
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Posted 13 November 2012 - 06:28

Well at the moment I am running Windows 8 RP 32 bit on one of my netbooks that used to have Windows 7. And I just have the one account,the administrator account.But because I am running Windows 8 on a netbook, I don't have any Metro apps. So I just have the ordinary software that I run on Windows 7 and Windows XP. there are one or two software's that don't work well on Windows 8 like they do on windows 7 and the other versions of Windows.So Windows 8 looses a couple of points, but apart from that Windows 8 is very much like Windows 7 and Windows Vista.And I have got the start button and Windows 7 start menu on Windows 8 thanks to Classic Shell.

thanks for the useless info that has NOTHING to do with the topic at hand
Spoiler


#11 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 13 November 2012 - 06:46

Well at the moment I am running Windows 8 RP 32 bit on one of my netbooks that used to have Windows 7. And I just have the one account,the administrator account.But because I am running Windows 8 on a netbook, I don't have any Metro apps. So I just have the ordinary software that I run on Windows 7 and Windows XP. there are one or two software's that don't work well on Windows 8 like they do on windows 7 and the other versions of Windows.So Windows 8 looses a couple of points, but apart from that Windows 8 is very much like Windows 7 and Windows Vista.And I have got the start button and Windows 7 start menu on Windows 8 thanks to Classic Shell.


Don't ever change Andrea Borman.

#12 nekrosoft13

nekrosoft13

    NeKroSoft inc.

  • Joined: 01-November 01
  • Location: IL
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 13 November 2012 - 18:53

What Im having trouble with is the stupid UAC and Admin permissions

Ok so you cant turn off UAC completely because then it wont let you run metro apps.
Or even if you give admin rights to a user you still get the stupid prompts when trying to write/delete into C: Program Files

Unable to run metro apps with the built in admistrator account.

Sure i can understand for average joes MS dosent want them to have full access because of security reasons

but why is the administrator level privliges and the admin account so crippled!!!

Anyone know work arounds for these.


thats another issue i'm having on my server 2012 rig.

how can i make "run as administator" the default everytime i start an program. so many times I just double click on an application it starts but then something doesn't functions because it needs admin rights. already have account with admin rights.

and don't give me that BS why you want to run less secure rig, I know what i'm doing I know what program i'm running I won't need windows telling what I can, should run or when it should run.

haven't really ahd time to look into this yet, upgrading server 2008 r2 to 2012 just introduced so many functionality issues.

smartscreen (or what ever its called) its another annoyance.

#13 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 13 November 2012 - 18:57

Although i've largely learned to live with UAC on Windows 7, it can still be a pain in the butt at times, especially given that I keep getting prompts whilst performing file operations in Explorer, even in non system directories. Don't get me wrong I prefer not to disable UAC but I can see how it can annoy some people.

#14 pes2013

pes2013

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-September 12

Posted 13 November 2012 - 18:57

I enabled and use the built in admin account as well :) (On 7)

Confirming it exists on 8 too is good :)

#15 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 13 November 2012 - 19:04

For those programs follow these directions:

1. Right-click on the shortcut (or directly on the executable if you wish).
2. Left-click "Properties".
3. Select the "Compatibility" tab.

Now in this area there's a couple options available depending on what you want to do.

A. Check "Run this program as an administrator" in the "Privilege level" area, if you wish to have only you run this program as an Admin.
B. Click on "Change settings for all users", then follow Step A as outlined directly above. That allows all users to run that program as Admin.

That will allow for this function on a program by program basis.

It will help keep the system more secure as only programs that you select will be allowed to be elevated as a default moving forward.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!