Jump to content



Photo

Biggest problem IMO with desktop metro apps


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Mark

Mark

    (: ollǝɥ

  • Joined: 22-October 04
  • Location: Derbyshire, UK

Posted 21 November 2012 - 14:44

Scrolling.

If you want to scroll in most apps, usually the tile based ones (lets take "track series" or "cheat keys and tips" as an example, but it's a fairly universal problem) you either have to click on a tile or empty UI to actually initiate scroll wheel scrolling.

In track series, you very often find yourself unable to scroll at all if your cursor is positioned over tiles.

Anyone else finding this a problem?


#2 Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 21 November 2012 - 14:47

No, you don't need to click anywhere for the scrolling purpose. Nope

I initially had this thing in Consumer Preview, in start screen only, that after boot up, it won't, for a second or two, scroll. You either wait a couple of seconds, or click in empty space.

Not in the final build though

#3 OP Mark

Mark

    (: ollǝɥ

  • Joined: 22-October 04
  • Location: Derbyshire, UK

Posted 21 November 2012 - 14:48

No, you don't need to click anywhere for the scrolling purpose. Nope


Well I do on my pc, both my daughters laptops and my brothers pc. So what am I doing wrong?

I should point out this is generally with 3rd party apps and all the MS apps are fine. It's a trending problem though.

#4 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 21 November 2012 - 14:56

Well I do on my pc, both my daughters laptops and my brothers pc. So what am I doing wrong?

I should point out this is generally with 3rd party apps and all the MS apps are fine. It's a trending problem though.

It depends on the touchpad drivers... On my laptop the scrolling doesn't wokr properly at all (Synaptics stuff with drivers from the Synaptics site), but on a friends' Asus laptop with an Elan touchpad and drivers for W8 by Asus it works perfectly. Pretty weird.

#5 grayscale

grayscale

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 11

Posted 21 November 2012 - 14:57

Yes, there are a bunch of Metro apps that have terrible to no scrolling support at all. Trackseries' scrolling works for me when the cursor is at the scrollbar. unified experience bs.

#6 giantpotato

giantpotato

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-January 04
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Posted 21 November 2012 - 15:05

In mouse/touchpad drivers there's usually a setting to switch between "scroll window under cursor" and "scroll window that has focus". I haven't tested, but maybe this has an effect on metro apps as well.

#7 OP Mark

Mark

    (: ollǝɥ

  • Joined: 22-October 04
  • Location: Derbyshire, UK

Posted 21 November 2012 - 15:11

Yes, there are a bunch of Metro apps that have terrible to no scrolling support at all. Trackseries' scrolling works for me when the cursor is at the scrollbar. unified experience bs.



I hadn't noticed this actually, on my daughter's laptop, scrolling doesn't work at all but on my other daughter's mac with windows 8, it exhibits the same behavior as my desktop pc with a mouse.

Because this appears to be a per app issue, I would assume that in some way the developer has either had to manually code scrolling or they have chosen not to use the Microsoft API.

Either way, I don't think apps should be approved when they have such a massive fault but I imagine Microsoft wants to approve as many apps as possible at this point.

I should have mentioned I really like Metro/Modern UI but this is a real usability problem, more of a problem than whether you like the look, or miss the old start menu.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!