Jump to content



Photo

SSD for media PC?


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Storm

Storm

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-August 03
  • Location: Leeds, UK

Posted 22 November 2012 - 20:41

The HDD in my media PC is really loud!
Are SSD drives suitable for use in a media PC?


#2 +InsaneNutter

InsaneNutter

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 15-March 03
  • Location: Yorkshire, England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & OSX 10.9
  • Phone: OnePlus One

Posted 22 November 2012 - 20:51

Are you recording TV or just streaming it?

I have a small 60gb ssd in my media PC that is used for a boot drive, along with a 1tb hard drive to record tv. Any other media is streamed across the network from the home server.

I wouldn't want to use it to record tv to, i imagine that would kill it off pretty quick.

#3 OP Storm

Storm

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-August 03
  • Location: Leeds, UK

Posted 22 November 2012 - 20:53

Sorry should have said.
Nothing is recorded/saved to the media pc.
all my media is on my home server.

#4 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 22 November 2012 - 20:55

Sure you can put on in it, but honestly it'd be pointless, get a more silent standard HDD instead, like a WD Green drive, and mount it with rubber fasteners if your case doesn't have rubber fasteners for it.

at most use a hybrid drive.

#5 +InsaneNutter

InsaneNutter

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 15-March 03
  • Location: Yorkshire, England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & OSX 10.9
  • Phone: OnePlus One

Posted 22 November 2012 - 21:00

I see no reason why you cant then, your boot up times should be a lot quicker and it will be silent. It will probably decease power usage a bit too.

I just have a small 60gb one in mine, didn't cost that much more than an Xbox game and its been great.

#6 +chconline

chconline

    I review, not promote.

  • Joined: 20-August 04
  • Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

Posted 22 November 2012 - 21:43

Which HDD do you have? Are you sure it's just the HDD? There are tons of components inside your computer that may be louder than your hard drive.

But yeah, it's probably not a bad idea. In my media center PC, I only have one drive installed, and it's an SSD. As others have pointed out. plug in everything else on the network.

#7 OP Storm

Storm

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-August 03
  • Location: Leeds, UK

Posted 22 November 2012 - 23:22

Cant remember what HDD is in it, but its definitely the HDD, everything else inside its silent

#8 OP Storm

Storm

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-August 03
  • Location: Leeds, UK

Posted 23 November 2012 - 09:47

I can get one of these:
http://www.lambda-te...gin=gbaseGB22.7
cheap.
is it worth it? just for a basic machine?

#9 Inertia

Inertia

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-November 02
  • Location: Rochdale UK

Posted 25 November 2012 - 02:01

i run a 60GB SSD in my media center PC and everything else is on my server, They are only cheap, mines an OCZ Agility 3 - http://www.aria.co.u...productId=47600

I think the muishkins are alright just make sur ethe firmware is up to date, I have had a few mushkins commit suicide on bad firmware.

#10 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 25 November 2012 - 05:18

Samsung 840 128GB SSDs are around 100 bucks...

#11 Groovedude

Groovedude

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-August 01
  • Location: .::UK::.

Posted 25 November 2012 - 11:35

you can get the above OCZ Agility 3, nice and cheap at the moment £39.99 -> http://www.pcworld.c...278422-pdt.html

#12 tsupersonic

tsupersonic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Win. 8.1 Pro. x64/Mac OS X
  • Phone: iPhone 5S/Nexus 5

Posted 25 November 2012 - 17:45

Unless you were storing media (which you're not), then I would definitely go SSD. Less noise, heat, power consumption, faster...

#13 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium
  • OS: Windows 7 + 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 25 November 2012 - 17:56

SSD's are pretty brilliant. Just get a reliable one. I highly recommend Crucial, Intel or Samsung.
This one for example: http://www.crucial.c...ULE=CT064M4SSD2

#14 typu

typu

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-November 10

Posted 25 November 2012 - 18:08

SSDs are no brainer nowadays - super performance, quiet, less power consumption (not that I care) and pretty affordable. samsung 830 or 840 models are no brainers.

#15 mrp04

mrp04

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-June 04

Posted 25 November 2012 - 18:14

Sure you can put on in it, but honestly it'd be pointless, get a more silent standard HDD instead, like a WD Green drive, and mount it with rubber fasteners if your case doesn't have rubber fasteners for it.

at most use a hybrid drive.


A small 60GB SSD is worth around $40 nowadays, no reason NOT to use one for this application.

Samsung 840 128GB SSDs are around 100 bucks...


Overkill for this application. An HTPC that doesn't store anything locally doesn't need a super fast SSD nor an SSD that large. An older generation 60GB-80GB SSD can be bought for half the price and will have no noticeable difference in an HTPC.