Jump to content



Photo

My OCZ Vertex 2 Is Dead


  • Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

#1 AimLXJ

AimLXJ

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-January 06
  • Location: California
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 24 November 2012 - 15:50

Date purchased: January 2, 2011
Date died: November 24, 2012
Place of purchase: Amazon
Model: OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
Firmware: 1.34

Noticeable things that occur before it died, note that it has been happening for ~1 week until it died:
-Some programs took a while to startup but the most noticeable one is BitDefender 2013
-Explorer.exe hangs for about 10-30 seconds when accessing folders
-Invisible icons at startup but after ~30 seconds they reappear
-Shortcuts were unable to locate programs but after ~30 seconds it finds it

Leaving my SSD disconnected for ~2 hours in hoping that will reset the whole thing and get it out of panic mode. Will report back after 2 hours..


#2 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 24 November 2012 - 15:52

I've read a lot of warnings about OCZ ssd's -- R.I.P.

#3 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 24 November 2012 - 15:53

You sure its not just Windows that has died ?

#4 OP AimLXJ

AimLXJ

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-January 06
  • Location: California
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 24 November 2012 - 15:54

I've read a lot of warnings about OCZ ssd's -- R.I.P.


No kidding, I even took care of it by preventing lots of writes (according to the SSD life tool the health was at 100%) and unfortunately no backups of the SSD were made.


You sure its not just Windows that has died ?


Can Windows cause it to go into panic mode?

#5 dragon2611

dragon2611

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-July 04
  • Location: Somewhere in the UK

Posted 24 November 2012 - 15:59

Might be worth checking the warranty period on them, I think it might be more than a year.

As long as you can find a copy of the receipt/order confirmation they seem to be pretty good at sorting an RMA.

The Repair/Replacement centre for Europe is in the Netherlands, Had a vertex 2E die in a machine we used at work took 2 days after shipping the faulty one to receive a replacement. Seems they shipped the replacement on the same day they received the faulty one.

#6 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 24 November 2012 - 16:04

Can Windows cause it to go into panic mode?


If something gets corrupted / malware infection / possibly even bad RAM, could cause Windows to start doing a whole range of weird stuff

I'd try reinstalling before giving up on the SSD, not saying that is definitely the problem but before blaming hardware I would always test software first

#7 OP AimLXJ

AimLXJ

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-January 06
  • Location: California
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 24 November 2012 - 16:05

If something gets corrupted / malware infection / possibly even bad RAM, could cause Windows to start doing a whole range of weird stuff

I'd try reinstalling before giving up on the SSD, not saying that is definitely the problem but before blaming hardware I would always test software first



Um, panic mode?

#8 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 24 November 2012 - 16:07

Um, panic mode?


Ah sorry, missed that in your OP, I haven't owned an SSD yet so never knew they had a panic mode

#9 Kane

Kane

  • Joined: 07-January 04
  • Location: Great Britain

Posted 24 November 2012 - 16:11

Contact OCZ and start the RMA process. The warranty on this series is 3 years afaik.

#10 OP AimLXJ

AimLXJ

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-January 06
  • Location: California
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 24 November 2012 - 16:14

Contact OCZ and start the RMA process. The warranty on this series is 3 years afaik.



Will do, I'm hoping that the next replacement won't have this issue or else I'll have to purchase a different brand.

#11 UXGaurav

UXGaurav

    Tried Classic Shell? It has 15 million+ downloads & growing

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-October 05
  • Location: Windows
  • OS: Windows

Posted 24 November 2012 - 16:16

Unfortunate you didn't make backups. Long term reliability of some SSDs is a gamble. Can folks tell me which SSDs they have had good long-term experience with? How is people's Intel X25-M G2 doing?

#12 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 24 November 2012 - 16:16

Leaving my SSD disconnected for ~2 hours in hoping that will reset the whole thing and get it out of panic mode. Will report back after 2 hours..


Not sure what that is going to accomplish?

Get a Crucial M4 TBH

Posted Image

#13 +TruckWEB

TruckWEB

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-December 01
  • Location: Quebec, Canada

Posted 24 November 2012 - 16:17

Well, I also have a Vertex 2 64Gb inside my Windows Desktop, no problem at the moment.... No problem with the Crucial M4 256Gb inside my Mac mini.

The problem with SSD is that when they fail, they fail QUICK.... No warning... They go from working fine to corrupting data and die....

#14 Kane

Kane

  • Joined: 07-January 04
  • Location: Great Britain

Posted 24 November 2012 - 16:18

Will do, I'm hoping that the next replacement won't have this issue or else I'll have to purchase a different brand.

I know that there has been people with issues with this series, but IMO I'd say you were just unlucky. I've got 2 Vertex 2E 60gb's in separate systems which I've had since 2010 that are working fine to this day (knock on wood haha).

#15 OP AimLXJ

AimLXJ

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-January 06
  • Location: California
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 24 November 2012 - 16:19

Not sure what that is going to accomplish?

Get a Crucial M4 TBH

Posted Image



I was told to do that :p and yea, planning on the Crucial if the SSD going to give me more problems



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!