Jump to content



Photo

Getting started with my nexus 7 / debugging apps

java nexus 7 eclipse debugging apps

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 sathenzar

sathenzar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-June 06

Posted 24 November 2012 - 18:02

I just purchased a nexus 7 HD 16 GB. While I haven't done a lot with the android/java platforms I would like to hit the ground running. I have eclipse and it is setup with the android sdk (via the ADT bundle from Google). I want to debug my apps on the nexus 7 as I program them. To my understanding this can be done via eclipse but even though I can view my nexus 7's files in windows explorer I can not see it in the devices list under Eclipse's Devices tab. Any ideas? I've tried searching Google to no avail. I'd really like to debug on my nexus 7 to see it in action on a live device. There doesn't seem to be much info on the web regarding this. I tried downloading the drivers from ASUS and switching over to camera as opposed to media device and that didn't work. Also I had a USB for developers mode last night but after the update went through (the device itself prompted me to update it and I did) that setting disappeared. Not sure if that has anything to do with this though.


#2 dnast

dnast

    Long-winded

  • Joined: 07-January 02
  • Location: Location Location

Posted 03 December 2012 - 05:33

Not sure if you figured it out yet, but you have to get the driver from SDK Manager (comes with the Android SDK). In SDK Manager it's near the bottom of the list under "Extras" and is simply called "Google USB Driver". You also have to enable USB debugging on your Nexus 7. I don't have that device, but on mine it's in the Settings menu under Developer Options titled "Android debugging".

My post is very late and there's a good chance you've figured it out by now, but maybe somebody else will find it useful. :)

#3 OP sathenzar

sathenzar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-June 06

Posted 02 February 2013 - 15:56

I had android debugging via usb then that same night the device updated and that option disappeared which was odd. I never have been able to debug with it, even while trying to install a different driver.

#4 OP sathenzar

sathenzar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-June 06

Posted 02 February 2013 - 16:23

honestly this is just crap. I seem to be the only one who can not debug on their nexus 7 even though I've searched dozens and dozens of forums and sites that all explain how to do it but it doesn't work for me. I'm seriously about to just trash it since that's the only reason I got it was to see my android apps get debugged on a live device. What a terrible platform. I've never had such a headache with setting anything up Microsoft has made for developers. My USB debugging option still is no where to be foudd after the first update (it's almost as if they removed the option completely). When I install the damn driver it comes up as android google phone instead of a nexus 7 (even though I am downloading it from here: http://support.asus....exus 7&p=28&s=2). This should not be this hard guys, it just really shouldn't. We're in the year 2013, they should've streamlined hooking a device up to your computer for debugging by now.

#5 Sikh

Sikh

    Neowin Addict!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 11-March 07
  • Location: localhost
  • OS: Windows 7 / 10.8 / Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Nexus 5 PA 4.4.2 / iPhone 5

Posted 03 February 2013 - 03:47

Try unlocking developer mode first before you get frustrated.

Follow these steps

Go to settings -> About Phone, and tap it Scroll down to build number Tap it seven times, after the third tap you will see a dialogue that says “You are four steps from being a developer” Keep tapping and you have got your developer settings back.

#6 OP sathenzar

sathenzar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-June 06

Posted 11 February 2013 - 06:14

What...that by far is the DUMBEST thing I have ever seen in terms of design. I love Google and all but what an epic fail. Thanks for the info though. Not sure why no one mentioned that in all of this time. I just assumed the update blocked the debugging option.

#7 TurboShrimp

TurboShrimp

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-December 12
  • Location: Ocean City Maryland
  • OS: Linux , OSX , IOS , Win8

Posted 11 February 2013 - 06:23

And people wonder why apple sells so many ipads why do you need to debug an app ?

are the apps that bad / buggy

#8 DKAngel

DKAngel

    That i cannot own ....I shall destroy

  • Joined: 20-July 03
  • Location: Perth, Australia

Posted 11 February 2013 - 08:13

rofl @ op for having a meltdown rather than actually looking up to see what was updated ahahhahaha,the debugging options were hidden because most normal users dont actually need to see them at it would confuse the buggery out of people

#9 OP sathenzar

sathenzar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-June 06

Posted 11 February 2013 - 17:23

It wasn't well advertised. Its my first tablet give me a break and no I don't have to use my tablet but that's what I paid to use it for.

#10 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 11 February 2013 - 18:10

And people wonder why apple sells so many ipads why do you need to debug an app ?

are the apps that bad / buggy

You need to be able to debug an application when you're developing it. This is true on any platform.

#11 TurboShrimp

TurboShrimp

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-December 12
  • Location: Ocean City Maryland
  • OS: Linux , OSX , IOS , Win8

Posted 12 February 2013 - 00:08

You need to be able to debug an application when you're developing it. This is true on any platform.


ok thanks I understand now