Jump to content



Photo

Connect to a wireless network without ssd broadcasting enabled

wifi

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 02 December 2012 - 21:28

On my home network I would like to disable ssd broadcasting, but whenever I do so, the two laptops are unable to connect. Is there a method to allow the laptops to connect without having the SSD broadcasting at all times?


#2 vetDirtyLarry

DirtyLarry

    ®®\vers.12.vis.13.u.03.al\DL

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: dirty jersey
  • OS: Win 8 | OS X 10.8.5 | Android 4.2.2
  • Phone: Galaxy S4

Posted 02 December 2012 - 21:39

On my home network I would like to disable ssd broadcasting, but whenever I do so, the two laptops are unable to connect. Is there a method to allow the laptops to connect without having the SSD broadcasting at all times?

Yep absolutely, it varies from OS to OS, but it is usually as easy as choosing "Other Network" and just manually entering the SSID and Password if needed.
I do also know there are a few cases when you need to change some more advanced settings, like what type of security is being used, but I think that may only be on XP & Vista.

#3 +Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi

    "You were the chosen one!"

  • Joined: 11-November 02
  • Location: West-Central Texas

Posted 02 December 2012 - 21:52

+1@DirtyLarry. As long as you know the "network name", and you have the credentials to connect to said network, you can disable broadcasting adding a very small layer of protection, IE, you can prevent your neighbors from connecting to your wifi by disabling broadcasting. Would this stop a tech-savvy person? Obviously no, but most people don't even know about stuff like that to begin with. My neighbor didn't know until the other day that I have a quite vast wifi signal...it'll reach the end of my block, but I've never had one person try to connect to it. Am I 100% safe? No, but it keeps the old farts off of my connection, kids as well.

#4 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 02 December 2012 - 22:15

Is there a reason you don't want to show the SSID to clients? You're still broadcasting it either way.

#5 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 02 December 2012 - 23:50

Is there a reason you don't want to show the SSID to clients? You're still broadcasting it either way.


this... some management software will even show hidden SSIDs.

I know that on my mom's laptop the management software showed some hidden ones...

so hiding them has no real security... not unless you are using something naughty and don't want your highly religious conservative neighbor to know about kinkyxxxtrannylovex network!!!!!

#6 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 03 December 2012 - 00:44

not to mention you're making all your clients poll for the AP everywhere they go, which just announces your SSID to more people.

#7 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 03 December 2012 - 04:19

Yeah there is NO reason that anyone should ever do this! EVER!!! It does not add any extra security, it makes it harder to connect to your own network. As mentioned it actually can cause your network name to be even more broadcasted, because every single client is going to be broadcasting, etc.

The extra broadcasts of the clients looking for it - can actually lower your bandwidth and performance.

There is NOT one reason you should ever think of doing such a thing - ever!! Over the years we have gone over this and over this and over this, come on you have never seen any of the must be 10+ threads somewhat recent even that this has come up and clearly pointed out that its STUPID!!!

here is good write up from 2007 about this nonsense
http://blogs.technet...less-ssids.aspx

Here is a must read about it from back in 2003, like 10 years ago and still this nonsense comes up.. When will it die???
http://www.library.c...ssid_hiding.pdf

--
Contrary to a common belief that the SSID is a WLAN security feature and its exposure a security risk, the
SSID is nothing more than a wireless-space group label. It cannot be successfully hidden. Attempts to
hide it will not only fail, but will negatively impact WLAN performance, and may result in additional
exposure of the SSID to passive scanning. The performance impact of this misguided effort will be felt in
multiple WLAN scenarios, including simple operations like joining a WLAN, and in significantly longer
roaming times.


Robert Moskowitz
Senior Technical Director
ICSA Labs, a division of TruSecure Corp

Author Biography
Robert Moskowitz has been a member of the Internet Architecture Board, the IETF Application Area
Directorate, and co-chair of the IETF IPSec Workgroup. In these areas, he was been heavily involved in
security work. He is now active in IEEE 802 working on security solutions for 802.11 and all the other 802
Medias (Ethernet, wireless broadband, UWB, etc.).
---

But I would love to know what you would accomplish by not broadcasting your SSID - other than causing yourself pain and aggravation with only detrimental effects as the only possible outcome from your efforts.

#8 OP jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 03 December 2012 - 12:33

My question was simply can it be done, I have no intention of going through with it.

#9 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 03 December 2012 - 12:54

Funny worded post if that was what your after.. Best advice when it comes to not broadcasting your ssid, forget about it.

As mentioned, depending on your OS there should be a way to allow them to connect to a nonbroadcasting ssid.

#10 MikeChipshop

MikeChipshop

    Miniman

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-October 06
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Win 8, Win 7, Vista, OSX, iOS, Android, WP8 and various Linux distro's
  • Phone: HTC 8X / Nexus 5

Posted 03 December 2012 - 13:14

.. don't want your highly religious conservative neighbor to know about kinkyxxxtrannylovex network!!!!!


You live near me don't you!? :o

#11 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 03 December 2012 - 15:20

Windows can do it, apple can do it, and I am sure ubuntu can as well....manually setup your wireless network and plug the information in.

If you don't know what it is, sniff the air and you will eventually find out what it is. airsnort will get this info. As budman stated so gracefully, you will break things if you hide your wireless...which is what you are seeing.