Jump to content



Photo

FSB Overclock Safe Like This?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Mark

Mark

    (: ollǝɥ

  • Joined: 22-October 04
  • Location: Derbyshire, UK

Posted 03 December 2012 - 10:52

I switched out my phenom x2 555 BE for a Athlon x4 640.

It's multiplier locked so the only way to overclock is FSB

I pushed the FSB to 220 giving me a 300mhz boost. Everything is stable. Temps are fine too, I have one of these massive heatsinks and fans.

I didn't change any else though, seems to be running fine at these voltages but...

the HT Link speed & North Bridge is at 2200mhz and my 1333mhz value RAM is running at 1466mhz

Is it safe to keep it running at this level in the long run?

Thanks.


#2 DKAngel

DKAngel

    That i cannot own ....I shall destroy

  • Joined: 20-July 03
  • Location: Perth, Australia

Posted 03 December 2012 - 11:19

as long as everything is stable and not hot, 300mhz aint all that much
espwhen ive got mine at 3.32 on air also

#3 OP Mark

Mark

    (: ollǝɥ

  • Joined: 22-October 04
  • Location: Derbyshire, UK

Posted 03 December 2012 - 11:23

as long as everything is stable and not hot, 300mhz aint all that much
espwhen ive got mine at 3.32 on air also


I was more worried about the overclocked ram to be honest, but yeah, everything seems stable at stock voltages.

#4 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 03 December 2012 - 20:08

you'll be fine as long as the temps are stable