Jump to content



Photo

Why does every single Steam game have to install .NET Framework?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: HTC Titan

Posted 04 December 2012 - 02:10

Do they all use their own custom set or something? I don't get it.


#2 +dead.cell

dead.cell

    My Body My Temple

  • Joined: 09-July 04
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • OS: Win 7 Pro / Win 8 Pro
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SII

Posted 04 December 2012 - 02:12

Ruins my day, errrtime... :/

#3 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 04 December 2012 - 02:14

Can't say I ever remember Steam games installing .NET Framework... mostly just DirectX and Visual C++ but to answer your question

Well if an app requires it, it would be a failure of the developer to not have it install. So the installers all install it, I'm pretty sure it's like DirectX, it will only update/install the outdated components.

#4 OP Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: HTC Titan

Posted 04 December 2012 - 02:19

Can't say I ever remember Steam games installing .NET Framework... mostly just DirectX and Visual C++ but to answer your question

Well if an app requires it, it would be a failure of the developer to not have it install. So the installers all install it, I'm pretty sure it's like DirectX, it will only update/install the outdated components.


New game I purchased just installed .NET. I know obviously if a game needs it it should install, I'm just wondering why each game installs DirectX/Visual C++ when I install them even though I already have them on my system.

#5 Bizkit

Bizkit

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-December 02

Posted 04 December 2012 - 02:19

Yeah, it's not annoying to have to run what feels like the same installer every Steam game you buy. Just a small taste of what I have on this computer.

Attached Images

  • steam.jpg


#6 compl3x

compl3x

    ✮؛✮؛✮؛✮؛✮

  • Joined: 06-December 09
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 04 December 2012 - 02:24

Perhaps this can shed some light on your question:

http://forums.steamp...66&postcount=47

#7 OP Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: HTC Titan

Posted 04 December 2012 - 02:30

Perhaps this can shed some light on your question:

http://forums.steamp...66&postcount=47


Thanks, that answers my question I guess.

(Second attempt at posting this reply.)

#8 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 04 December 2012 - 03:36

Perhaps this can shed some light on your question:

http://forums.steamp...66&postcount=47


True for DirectX, but not so for .NET.

You can reliably check which version of the .NET runtime is installed and act accordingly, but I'm sure the installers do it just out of simplicity. If you already have the relevant version of .NET installed it won't do anything. If you don't have it then you'll get it and if it is corrupt then it can be repaired. So running it all the time can reduce support calls while having no ill effects (as it won't cause any problems for those who already have it installed).



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!