Jump to content



Photo

Upgrading my video card


  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#1 Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 07 December 2012 - 21:13

So I'm upgrading my video card and was wondering if this card would be a good purchase. If not could someone recommend a good one under the $200 range?

Thanx.

Edit:

Dang it! Any card I get needs to be PCI-E 2.0 or 2.1.


#2 spikey_richie

spikey_richie

    There's no place like 127.0.0.1

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-February 05
  • Location: Nuneaton, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 07 December 2012 - 21:23

http://www.tomshardw...view-30726.html

#3 OP Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 07 December 2012 - 21:25

Yea, I saw that. But those are old cards. I have a GTX 550 ti right now.

#4 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 07 December 2012 - 21:27

Yea, I saw that. But those are old cards. I have a GTX 550 ti right now.


7870 if you can push to $209

http://www.tigerdire...6882&CatId=7387

EDIT -Sorry thats the 7850 - came up in the 7870 results

$219 for the 7870
http://www.tigerdire...9672&CatId=7387

I have the 7870 and its a beast of a card

#5 OP Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 07 December 2012 - 21:32

7870 if you can push to $209

http://www.tigerdire...6882&CatId=7387


I never even considered Radeon. But I can't run a PCI-E 3.0 on my Asus M5A97 mobo. That's why I scratched out that card in my OP.

1 x PCIe 2.0 x16 (blue)
1 x PCIe 2.0 x16 (x4 mode, black)
2 x PCIe 2.0 x1
2 x PCI

Edit:

Guess 2.1 is also out. Doesn't leave me many choices on upgrade. :(

#6 notuptome2004

notuptome2004

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 04

Posted 07 December 2012 - 21:35

PCI E 3.0 is backwards comapatble with 2.0 and 2.1 and 1.0 slots

#7 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 07 December 2012 - 21:36

I never even considered Radeon. But I can't run a PCI-E 3.0 on my Asus M5A97 mobo. That's why I scratched out that card in my OP.

1 x PCIe 2.0 x16 (blue)
1 x PCIe 2.0 x16 (x4 mode, black)
2 x PCIe 2.0 x1
2 x PCI

Edit:

Guess 2.1 is also out. Doesn't leave me many choices on upgrade. :(


You can run a PCI-E 3.0 card in a 2.1 or 2,0 machine, just runs at the speed your board supports

My machine has 2.0 running the 7870 3.0 card, not much will even max out 2.1 yet so your not bottlenecking the card running it in a 2.1 or 2.0 machine

---
Check my edit in last post with link




Posted Image

#8 OP Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 07 December 2012 - 21:44

You can run a PCI-E 3.0 card in a 2.1 or 2,0 machine, just runs at the speed your board supports

My machine has 2.0 running the 7870 3.0 card, not much will even max out 2.1 yet so your not bottlenecking the card running it in a 2.1 or 2.0 machine

---
Check my edit in last post with link




Posted Image


Hmm, if that's the case, then an extra few bucks won't even matter. But why Radeon over nVidia? Is there a benefit that I'm overlooking?

#9 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 07 December 2012 - 21:47

Hmm, if that's the case, then an extra few bucks won't even matter. But why Radeon over nVidia? Is there a benefit that I'm overlooking?


Not really, AMD is cheaper than nVidia, nVidia do have better performing cards but you have to pay the price for them

My brother paid £263 for a 670
I paid £200 for a 7870 (Could have gotten it for £160 online but wanted it that day from local store)

He gets about 30-40% better performance than me so far with the tests we've tried, but drivers are still young for both cards so performance should only get better


Comparison between my old 6850 and new 7870

Posted Image

#10 abysal

abysal

    Neowin Addict

  • Joined: 23-November 01
  • Location: Delaware, USA
  • OS: Win7/Mint/FreeBSD/OSX
  • Phone: BB9930/SGSIII

Posted 07 December 2012 - 21:48

The GTX 660 seems to be the card to get these days... but it's about $100 over your budget :( So the AMD 7870 would be the next best bet.

#11 OP Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 07 December 2012 - 21:52

So then just out of curiosity, since they are backward compatible. Which of these two would be better:

http://www.tigerdire...6347&CatId=7387

http://www.tigerdire...190094&csid=_61

Because I have always ran nVidia.

#12 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 07 December 2012 - 21:56

So then just out of curiosity, since they are backward compatible. Which of these two would be better:

http://www.tigerdire...6347&CatId=7387

http://www.tigerdire...190094&csid=_61

Because I have always ran nVidia.


The 650Ti would out perform the normal 650 - Bear in mind, those cards only have a 128bit memory bus width vs the 7870 with 265bit and a whole load better specs all round

Posted Image

#13 spikey_richie

spikey_richie

    There's no place like 127.0.0.1

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-February 05
  • Location: Nuneaton, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 07 December 2012 - 21:58

Ti is marginally better, http://www.geforce.c...orce-gtx-650-ti

#14 OP Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 07 December 2012 - 21:58

The 650Ti would out perform the normal 650 - Bear in mind, those cards only have a 128bit memory bus width vs the 7870 with 265bit

Posted Image


Then I think I've made my decision. I will get the Gigabyte GeForce GTX 650 Ti.

Thanx everyone.

Edit:

Wait, what's the diff on the bit memory?

#15 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 07 December 2012 - 21:59

Then I think I've made my decision. I will get the Gigabyte GeForce GTX 650 Ti.

Thanx everyone.


:) enjoy your new card



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!